1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

what difference does the amount of ram make on 6600 and 6600GT's?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by radio91, 12 Jan 2006.

  1. radio91

    Associate

    Joined: 11 Jan 2006

    Posts: 57

    Whats it the significance of haveing more on board ram on a graphics card?

    Im going for a low end card and was looking at this card at first:

    XFX GeForce PCX6600 Extreme XXX Edition 256MB DDR2 TV-Out/Dual DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail (PVT43-PUDS7) (GX-058-XF)


    Then i realised it only had DVI outputs and i have a 21" TRINITRON CRT monitor and its the best monitor iv ever seen picture wise so i dont wanna change it. So rather than use a converter i looked for card that had a VGA OUTPUT. So now im considering this card:

    Leadtek WinFast PCX6600GT-TDH GeForce PCX6600 GT 128MB DDR3 TV-Out/DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail (GX-045-LT)


    But i noticed this only had 128mb of onboard ram but its clock speeds are far higher. I also noticed you get a 512mb version of the xfx card and iv got to wandering what advantages does all the extra ram have? Surly it cant make it as fast as a 6600gt ?

    Either which card would give the highest performace on games like doom 3 and why?
     
  2. Phil99

    Capodecina

    Joined: 29 Oct 2004

    Posts: 10,896

    128MB 6600 < 256MB 6600 < 128MB 6600GT < 256MB 6600GT < 512MB 6600 (The 500MHz+ XFX one)
     
  3. matt_fsr

    Soldato

    Joined: 20 Jul 2005

    Posts: 5,683

    Location: Durham

    Agreed with Phil99.

    Seems that the main reason manufacturers add extra RAM is as a selling point, I know someone who thought his 256Mb FX5200 card was a good card by todays standards cos it was 256Mb - people with less knowledge will just get a card with more RAM, regardless of other factors (and shop salespeople arent usually knowledgeable enough to explain any better)

    512Mb RAM on a mid-range card is having a laugh tho!

    Personally i've just gone from a perfectly adequate 128Mb 6600GT to a 256Mb x800xl - fairly pleased, will see how it goes for a while.

    Any justification for not wanting to use a signal converter? I've never seen any noticeable degradation of quality through them.
     
  4. a1ex2001

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Mar 2005

    Posts: 13,039

    Location: Here and There...

    ^^ I'd second that I've run the converter on a digital output on numerous ocasions without any noticable drop in quality so don't let it put you off a card.