1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What do you use to control your HTPC - is the Microsoft remote worth getting?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema & Hi-Fi' started by Snow-Munki, 22 May 2006.

  1. Snow-Munki

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,054

    Location: At home

    Hi,

    upgrading my HTPC box as a previous thread a few days ago. Was wondering should I also purchase the MCE remote and then eventually the MCE wireless keyboard.

    At the moment i have normal standard wired mouse and keyboard just sat next to the tv. And have an ATI remote which does kinda do the job, and also has mouse control so can do things outside of MCE.

    Also use it to download so have VNC installed and access it via my main computer.

    What about you guys ?
     
  2. Matt

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,661

    Location: Ledbury

    If you have MCE, you need the remote. It really is that simple :)
     
  3. Baddass

    Don

    Joined: 12 Jan 2003

    Posts: 20,083

    Location: UK

    not seen the MCE remote, but the ATI one (which i have too) does a good job i find.....i might end up getting another one for my HTPC when it#s set up :)
     
  4. Matt

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,661

    Location: Ledbury

    The MCE remote is obviously best with MCE ;) It really does make things so much easier, and it's not that expensive really.
     
  5. bmh.01

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,017

    Location: Nuneaton, UK

    I've got a self build mce pc and I got the remote off ebay for about £25 a year ago ish, absolute godsend, you can't use media centre properly without it.
     
  6. Baddass

    Don

    Joined: 12 Jan 2003

    Posts: 20,083

    Location: UK

    dont worry, i did realise that :)
     
  7. David230

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Dec 2005

    Posts: 723

    I use the MCE remote with MCE2005 but I think something like the logitech harmony can be rigged to work with media center IF, you would prefer a different style remote. Going for about £40 on ebay at the moment for the one with the nice blue display. ;)
     
  8. Whoop

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Nov 2003

    Posts: 2,403

    Location: Loughborough

    The MCE remote is fantastic but eats batteries, whats the MCE keyboard? :confused:


    Whoop
     
  9. Euro_Hunter

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,978

    Location: Lincolnshire

  10. Snow-Munki

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,054

    Location: At home

  11. Euro_Hunter

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,978

    Location: Lincolnshire

  12. zealot

    Hitman

    Joined: 7 Jan 2003

    Posts: 723

    Very shoddy piece of design it's either fast or to slow for moving the cursor. lucky i have the gyration mouse for this.
     
    Last edited: 24 May 2006
  13. kidloco

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 Nov 2003

    Posts: 4,924

    Location: Lancashire

    search the bay for HP media centre remote controls.

    got mine for 99p off there. its fantastic, works with the 360 too. great layout, loads of usefull shortcut buttons.
     
  14. blairw

    Mobster

    Joined: 19 Mar 2006

    Posts: 3,408

    Location: Scotland, UK

    I have one of these HP remotes aswell.. what do you use for a reciever may i ask?
     
  15. Mr Latte

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 8 Aug 2003

    Posts: 9,137


    The MCE remote also works fine with itunes, theatretek and many other apps folks. Some functions may be limited but the basic controls all seem to work a treat

    I dont even bother with MCE now using my favourite apps instead with combination of wireless keys/mouse and remote.