1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What NAS?

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by hooj, 20 Jan 2006.

  1. hooj

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Jan 2003

    Posts: 548

    Location: Southampton

    I haven't been able to find anything similar, but can anyone point me in the direction of an empty NAS device?
    I already have ata133 160GB disk to go in it.

    Do these things exist?

    If not are there any SOHO NAS devices that include Windows Active Directory integration?
     
  2. Skilldibop

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Sep 2005

    Posts: 1,284

    Location: London

    you can get HDD enclosures. AS for whih ones will work in active directory, i dunno. If you want active directory to work just install a cheap and cheerful Pc with a NIC and loads of hard drives attatched to it.

    Edit: best off asking in the HDD forum really.
     
  3. derbyjake

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Nov 2005

    Posts: 425

    Location: Derbyshire UK

    avoid the netgear storage central all ill say
     
  4. weescott

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 25 Feb 2004

    Posts: 9,394

    Location: Heckling for change

  5. derbyjake

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Nov 2005

    Posts: 425

    Location: Derbyshire UK

    well its not a true NAS,

    you need to install software on each pc to get acsess to it, by all means if you dont mind doing it then thats one problem gone, there were alot of threads on it over on the hard drive forum if you do a search you can have a read through see what you think
     
  6. computer techie

    Associate

    Joined: 18 Jan 2006

    Posts: 40

    Location: Maltby Nr Rotherham

    just get a cheap pc
    but a ide or sata controller card init then go from there
    youll beable to fit a few decent sized h/ds into it

    OcUK sell them
     
  7. hooj

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Jan 2003

    Posts: 548

    Location: Southampton

    Just been looking at the specs for the SC101.
    No good for me as you need client software installed in order to access it.

    Reading some online reviews alot mention overheating and random disconnects.

    Are there any other alternatives?
     
  8. Skilldibop

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Sep 2005

    Posts: 1,284

    Location: London

    if your looking at a £2000 budget then there are some Rack mount NAS units that run server 2003 as an OS, so AD is no issue there.
     
  9. derbyjake

    Gangster

    Joined: 8 Nov 2005

    Posts: 425

    Location: Derbyshire UK

    theres the linksys one meant to be *** cant for life of me think of its name tho
     
  10. Skilldibop

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Sep 2005

    Posts: 1,284

    Location: London

    cheap case- £14.99, PSU- £30 NF2mobo with onboard video,LAN and SATA £40, SKTA cpu >1Ghz £50, 200GB sata disk-£65, 256DDR400- £15

    Total- £215 which is about the same as a NAS solution but more expandable, covers all interface types, SATA, PATA, USB, FIREWIRE, RAID options for data protection/speed.

    cheap and cheeful fileserver is far better than any basic NAS, the £1500 touches are obviously better, but they don't cost £250.