1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What settings should i change

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Gerard, 14 Jul 2006.

  1. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 35,120

    Location: Ireland

  2. weescott

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 25 Feb 2004

    Posts: 9,394

    Location: Heckling for change

    Put your ram timings to manual

    CPC off to get big clocks but less performance.
     
  3. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 35,120

    Location: Ireland

    cpc? :confused:
     
  4. weescott

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 25 Feb 2004

    Posts: 9,394

    Location: Heckling for change

    Command Per Clock, my bad, set to 2T.
     
  5. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 35,120

    Location: Ireland

    [​IMG]

    Cpc only had duisable\enable option so its now on enabled. Ram down to 133 though.
     
    Last edited: 14 Jul 2006
  6. weescott

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 25 Feb 2004

    Posts: 9,394

    Location: Heckling for change

    disable for 2T
     
  7. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 35,120

    Location: Ireland

    What difference wil that make in terms of performance?
     
  8. weescott

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 25 Feb 2004

    Posts: 9,394

    Location: Heckling for change

    I can't remember off hand, but I sure someone will step in ;)
     
  9. Mikebert4

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Apr 2006

    Posts: 224

    Location: Peterborough, UK

    2T is ~1/2 as fast as 1T so leave CPC enabled

    it's the number of clock-cycles used to issue a command to RAM.

    Run 1T if you can, I've not seen a great increase in Clock speeds with lowering to 2T, and the performance increase is seriously noticable running 1T.

    What RAM do you have? I'd find out what the Manufacturer says it'll do and then manually set all the Timings to that..

    The Auto (SPD) timings are usually set slower, to guarantee bootability, so if you tweak 'em to as tight as you can (adding a little voltage can help, depends on the RAM) then thats a good start, however, be perpared for lots of BIOS resets (know where that jumper on you're MoBo is -called CMOS reset usually) I'd recoment starting with somthing like 3,3,3,8 1T and tighten from there..


    Throw us your RAM type and MoBo (looks like DFI from the BIOS) and i'll look it up for ya :)
     
    Last edited: 14 Jul 2006
  10. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 35,120

    Location: Ireland

    Mobo is a dfi cfx3200ddr

    ram is G.Skill 2GB DDR HZ PC4000
     
  11. Mikebert4

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Apr 2006

    Posts: 224

    Location: Peterborough, UK

    Nice :)

    Well, you should be able to hit 250Mhz FSB -MINIMUM- with 3,4,4,8 1T timings, as thats what G.Skill sell it as - if it won't do that then RMA it. Simple.


    I'd say that you could be looking at 260-270 FSB with those timings, if you add a little voltage (up to about 2.9 or 3v) just make sure the airflow in your case is enough to stop the ram getting stroppy with the heat (a Fan over the RAM helps if you go for over 2.9v). Though the 2Gb kits haven't got too good a set of reviews..

    All these FSB's are with no dividers - MoBo set to DDR200 (or DDR400 if it doubles it for you)

    drop that value to DDR333 or DDR166 depending on what your MoBo calls it and voila! you've got a memory divider and you can ramp up the FSB more..

    What else?...

    Well, if you loosen the timings to say 4,4,4,10 you could squeeze a few more Mhz out of your RAM (up to 270-290 depending on the RAM and processor).

    Have a fiddle, and try to find a sweet spot, a good example is my system

    A64 3000+
    1Gb Corsair XMS Pro

    Running at 300Mhz FSB with divider set to 333 (RAM = CPU/11)
    so CPU at 2.7Ghz and Ram at 245Mhz, 2.5,2,3,6, 1T

    Vcore at 1.52v and VRAM at 3.2v

    I can run my processor all the way up to 3.1Ghz (only 3Ghz prime stable though), but i have to ramp on a higher divider to do so, and hence the RAM gets strangled a bit- so I find the the 2.7/245 comprimise is agood one.

    Have a fiddle! (and if you blow anything up... well... :( )
     
    Last edited: 16 Jul 2006
  12. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 12,637

    Location: Surrey

    oddly enough a lot of the gskill zx/hz stuff prefers LOWER voltages so don't discount knocking of 0.1v in a hunt for stability, if it doesn't work then it doesn't work but I remember when I was in the process of buying some a lot of people were talking about them being unstable at 2.6v but happy at 2.3/4

    Mine topped out at about 265 3-4-4-8 but I didn't try any other timings to go further.