1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

What would happen if i put a 600w psu on..

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Chronictank, 2 Jun 2006.

  1. Chronictank

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Jan 2006

    Posts: 2,548

    Noob question;
    what would happen if i put a Seasonic 600w silent power supply on a Abit Kt7a socket A, with a AMD Athlon 1000Mhz cpu on it.
    Would it fry everything or would it work fine ? :)
    Far as i understand it, it should be fine and allow a much higher than necessary threshold for addtional devices.
    Thanks in advance
     
  2. split

    Mobster

    Joined: 2 Nov 2002

    Posts: 3,534

    Location: Dorset

    It should work fine.

    Modern PSU's only draw and give what's needed.
     
  3. Chronictank

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Jan 2006

    Posts: 2,548

    thanks :)
    thought iwould check before i did something stupid ^^
     
  4. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 29,500

    Location: In a house

    The fans would spin, and the LED's would light up, if it had any, and it would power whatever it is connected to. :p



























    Will work fine. :)
     
  5. Explicit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,186

    Expect a massive explosion with sparks flying off everywhere which ignite the carpet and curtains, causing your whole house to burn down.





    Or, it will just power up as usual. :D
     
  6. poltergeist666

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Feb 2003

    Posts: 381

    Location: Southampton

    And if things turned out really pants, a small nuclear mushroom for effect.
     
  7. InSanCen

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Jan 2005

    Posts: 861

    Location: In my own little world

    Mushroom Clouds For the Win!!!!;)

    Nah, chuck it on, I was running an NF7-S on a 500W Bluestorm last week.