1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

When wil we see Yonah & Conroe

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Slime101, 13 Jan 2006.

  1. Slime101

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 12,841

    Location: Lost!

    I was under the impression that Yonah was ment to be out and yet i've not managed to find chips or mobos relating to them??

    In addition to this when is Conroe due out with its mobos for desktops specifically and is it best to wait for these?
     
  2. Corasik

    Soldato

    Joined: 5 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,002

    Location: West Midlands

    65 NM Processors

    Desktop Kentsfield Dual core multi-die 4 MB Mid 2007
    Desktop Conroe Dual core single die 4 MB shared End 2006
    Desktop Allendale Dual core single die 2 MB shared End 2006
    Desktop Cedar Mill (NetBurst/P4) Single core 512 kB, 1 MB, 2 MB Early 2006
    Desktop Presler (NetBurst/P4) Dual core, dual die 4 MB Early 2006
    Desktop/Mobile Millville Single core 1 MB Early 2007
    Mobile Yonah2 Dual core, single die 2 MB Early 2006
    Mobile Yonah1 Single core 1/2 MB Mid 2006
    Mobile Stealey Single core 512 kB Mid 2007
    Mobile Merom Dual core, single die 2/4 MB shared End 2006
    Enterprise Sossaman Dual core, single die 2 MB Early 2006
    Enterprise Woodcrest Dual core, single die 4 MB Mid 2006
    Enterprise Clovertown Quad core, multi-die 4 MB Mid 2007
    Enterprise Dempsey (NetBurst/Xeon) Dual core, dual die 4 MB Mid 2006
    Enterprise Tulsa Dual core single die 4/8/16 MB End 2006
    Enterprise Whitefield Quad core single die 8 MB, 16 MB shared Early 2008

    45 NM Processors

    Desktop Wolfdale Dual core, single die 3 MB shared 2008
    Desktop Ridgefield Dual core single die 6 MB shared 2008
    Desktop Yorkfield 8 cores multi-die 12 MB shared 2008+
    Desktop Bloomfield Quad core, single die - 2008+
    Desktop/Mobile Perryville Single core 2 MB 2008
    Mobile Penryn Dual core single die 3 MB, 6 MB shared 2008
    Mobile Silverthorne - - 2008+ Enterprise Hapertown 8 cores multi-die 12 MB shared 2008
     
  3. Slime101

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 12,841

    Location: Lost!

    :eek: 8mb per core on die :D (shame its enterprise only!).

    So as Yonah chips are sposed to be out, why cant i find any?
     
  4. Digital Punk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Aug 2004

    Posts: 1,978

    Location: In a bar, gettin' ******

    Cos Michael Dell's got them all stuffed under his mattress. ;)
     
  5. benjo plz.

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Jan 2004

    Posts: 14,208

    Location: Hall

    When we see AMD's Orleans and Windsor tbh.
     
  6. NathanE

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,022

    Location: London & Singapore

    As always the chips make their way to OEMs first and _then_ find their way to the retail channels. I'd guess OCUK will get stock as soon as possible and as soon as there is a motherboard available to plug them into.

    Conroe is Q3, so still a while to wait.
     
  7. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 12,123

    Location: Surrey

    isn't the intel duo thing in the new apple powerbooks basically a yonah?

    EDIT: from macbook pro spec

    Processor and Memory

    1.67 or 1.83GHz Intel Core Duo processor, 2MB on chip shared L2 cache running 1:1 with processor speed
    667MHz frontside bus


    Sounds like a yonah to me.
     
  8. perplex

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 Jul 2005

    Posts: 452

    It IS Yonah. You can buy Yonah based laptops now? It is a mobile CPU afterall.
     
  9. 5tephen

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 16 Oct 2003

    Posts: 1,520

    Where do Intel get the names for their chips from? Some of them sound pretty cool. Very '...field' orientated I notice :)
     
  10. benjo plz.

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Jan 2004

    Posts: 14,208

    Location: Hall

    They use rivers (or atleast they did for earlier cores), and places in the USA and Canada.
     
    Last edited: 14 Jan 2006
  11. NathanE

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,022

    Location: London & Singapore

    And more recently places in Israel. Dothan and Yonah were both named after things in Israel, IIRC.
     
  12. benjo plz.

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Jan 2004

    Posts: 14,208

    Location: Hall

    Doubt it, there are plenty of Dothans and two Yonahs in the USA.
     
  13. NathanE

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,022

    Location: London & Singapore

    You are right but if you Google around the general concensus seems to be that Dothan, Yonah and Merom were names chosen by the Israeli engineers that developed them.
     
  14. chex

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Dec 2005

    Posts: 500

    thats not what its called anymore

    now its 'intel core duo (or solo)'

    the good names always get dropped for names that they can hammer into peoples head through adverts.
     
  15. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 12,123

    Location: Surrey

    sure its not a "core duo" yonah core in the same way pentium 4 has had so many names under the pentium 4 header?
     
  16. NathanE

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,022

    Location: London & Singapore

    That's true but you'll find people here will still refer to the codename explicitly because over time the Core Due/Solo brand will have multiple revisions to its name - just like P4 has had Willamette, Northwood, Prescott, Smithfield and Presler :)
     
  17. benjo plz.

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Jan 2004

    Posts: 14,208

    Location: Hall

    I am familiar with Merom and Dothan in Israel, never heard of Yonah though, but I find it spurious (and too much of a co-incidence) that they also share names with places in the USA.
    Eurgh, I had a P4 2Ghz one of them, what a pos.
     
  18. NathanE

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,022

    Location: London & Singapore

    Should have researched before buying ;) :p

    PS: I don't know who to believe about where the codenames come from. So I'll stay neutral :)
     
  19. benjo plz.

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Jan 2004

    Posts: 14,208

    Location: Hall

    I got it in a computer from a certain company. Was the fastest processor available at the time, but now its beaten by a Celeron Northwood 2Ghz, and it can only use SDram :\.
     
  20. NathanE

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,022

    Location: London & Singapore

    I bet my Northwood 1.8A with 1GB DDR RAM is about 2-3x faster than that thing :p You're right... the Willamette's were possibly the worst processor Intel have ever made. Luckily the Northwood was completely opposite :p