Which fighting game to get (360) :S

Associate
Complete noob at fighting games, played street fighter before which i liked but then mortal combat looks very cool, and I hear soul caliber and tekken are good too?

Basically which is the one to go for purely for online play and the odd bit of split screen stuff?

Soldato
The most recent Mortal Kombat game isn't a bad game but it has awful net code so stay away from that if you're looking purely for online play, I can't comment on Tekken 6 as I got bored of it after a few weeks and traded it. Soul Calibur V is out in a few weeks so you could hold off for that. If I were you right now I would take a look at:

Super Street Fighter IV: Arcade Edition
Ultimate Marvel Vs Capcom 3
King of Fighters XIII

The net code for all of them is pretty decent, just keep in mind if you're very new to fighting games it can be very tough online at first until you learn your fundamentals and start getting your bread and butter combos down. You should swing by the Street Fighter thread we have on here, a lot of experienced players in there who are happy to answer any questions you have.

Soldato
A new version came out around last summer, they actually released another update called Arcade Edition 2012 in December but that was a free download.

Soldato
What's the arcade edition? Has this been re-released again?!

The Japanese arcades get updated versions of the game every so often, so they released the update as DLC i.e. Arcade Edition. So far It's gone like this (I think):

SF4 (Full retail game) > SSF4 (Discounted retail game @ £25) > Arcade Edition (DLC 1200 MS points, but it also got a cheap retail release too) > Arcade Edition 2012 (Free update)

It is a lot of releases of the same game, but people would instead be complaining if they never released the arcade updates.

Man of Honour
Sfiv if you are very new to fighting games, if not there are a lot better games out there like tekken 6, mvc3, sfiihdr, kof and blazblue.

Soldato