1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which motherboard for this RAM?

Discussion in 'Memory' started by y2viks, 9 Jul 2006.

  1. y2viks

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Dec 2003

    Posts: 1,652

    Location: I Freed Fishfingers 13/08

    I have some DDR333 PC2700 memory and was wondering which motherboards would support this type of RAM?

    From what i have seen on OC's a few specify DDR2 but some have no mention of what RAM types they will accept.

    Thanks

    Viks
     
  2. Firegod

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 12 Sep 2003

    Posts: 8,843

    Location: Newcastle, UK

    I'm guessing its for an AMD processor, yeah? If so, then any under the AMD section will be fine, just stay away from any mentioning AM2 (the new socket design) as this is the one that requires DDR2 ram.

    So any board will work, bar AM2 specific ones. If you're still in doubt but have a board in mind just post the make and model and people will let you know for defo if its all compatible. :)
     
  3. y2viks

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Dec 2003

    Posts: 1,652

    Location: I Freed Fishfingers 13/08

    I've specced the following bit of kit to go with the RAM.

    MB-119-AS Asus A8N-VM CSM Micro ATX (Socket 939) PCI Express Motherboard (MB-119-AS) £46.95 £46.95

    CP-117-AM AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice (Socket 939) - Retail (ADA3000BPBOX) (CP-117-AM) £52.95 £52.95

    HD-050-SE Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 160GB ST3160812AS SATA-II 8MB Cache - OEM (HD-050-SE) £39.95 £39.95

    CA-037-AN Antec Minuet II Slimline Case - 220W SmartPower PSU (CA-037-AN) £32.95 £32.95

    Just awaiting an email from OC's sales people to make sure it will go together nicely in terms of fitting into the case as well as making sure the RAM will work and the cases PSU will fit the motherboard slot (as in a 20 or 24 pin)

    Viks
     
  4. Firegod

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 12 Sep 2003

    Posts: 8,843

    Location: Newcastle, UK

    Seems fine to me, just make sure you have a PCI-E graphics card and not AGP. :) Obviously it can't be too high-end a graphics card as I don't think that PSU will be adequate. But it should all work together. :)
     
  5. y2viks

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Dec 2003

    Posts: 1,652

    Location: I Freed Fishfingers 13/08

    I'll just use the onboard gfx :) I've got a decent PC to play games on, this is just me being greedy and wanting two :p

    Viks :)
     
  6. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 28,225

    Location: Rutland

    That system spec is fine :)