1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which network has the best data FUP?

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones & Tablets' started by mcwildcard, 10 May 2010.

  1. mcwildcard

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Jun 2005

    Posts: 4,595

    Location: London

    Considering all the shenanigans with Vodafone atm, I was wondering what network I should go for in the event they do agree to cancel my contract?
     
  2. GuruJockStrap

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 8,753

    T-Mobile from what I've been reading (3GB).
     
  3. Solaris

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 Oct 2006

    Posts: 1,956

    O2 IMO..
     
  4. wellibob

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Mar 2006

    Posts: 4,034

    not vodafone !!! O2 have the best, however i suspect horrible things to happen to all networks supplying data on their smart phone tariffs . Everyone i know exceeds their limits, and most by at least double (depending on the network). sooner or later the tree is going have no apples left !!!
     
  5. V4NT0M

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Jan 2007

    Posts: 19,703

    Location: Land of the Scots

    which networks are they with and what are the limits, I would find it extremely hard to exceed 3gb. Maybe i should stream more stuff :)
     
  6. Yas786

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 48,694

    Location: All over the world...

    Whats their FUP then??

    Tmobile are currently the best from what ive been reading around...3gb allowance.

    Voda are the worst as they have a 500mb hard cap now and you get charged if you go over it.
     
  7. alx

    Soldato

    Joined: 10 Aug 2003

    Posts: 6,033

    Location: Dubai, UAE

    O2 FUP is 200mb according to their 'mobile internet bolt on' page.
     
  8. Yas786

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 48,694

    Location: All over the world...

    Yeh hardly the best lol:p...200mb??..i could get through that in a few hrs really.
     
  9. alx

    Soldato

    Joined: 10 Aug 2003

    Posts: 6,033

    Location: Dubai, UAE

    It seems ridiculous seeing as they charge you £7.50 for that bolt on as well!!
     
  10. Yas786

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 48,694

    Location: All over the world...

    :eek:...what a con that is...no wonder people say O2 are the worst network around....thank god i left them 10 yrs ago:p
     
  11. mrochester

    Soldato

    Joined: 29 Sep 2003

    Posts: 5,622

    Location: Newcastle upon Tyne

    This has been recycled over and over and over. O2 do not have a FUP of 200MB. Their service is unlimited, and they will only cap you if you're negatively impacting other customers. Where do people get this 200MB limit from?! Here are the terms from the O2 website...

     
  12. Begbie

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2004

    Posts: 24,918

    Location: ....

    T-Mobie /thread
     
  13. martin9887

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Nov 2006

    Posts: 2,032

    I emailed O2 asking about their fair usage policies and the person said she wasn't allowed to comment on the their policies.

    Email I got back:
    Which I find quite barmy myself.

    I checked 3's and its 500MB, but I think you can raise this 2.5GB with an add-on (can't find on their website though).

    I'm also trying to decide which network to go for!
     
  14. Scottland

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 15,412

    Location: North Wales

    What is the coverage and speed like on T-Mobile? I would assume this would only get better once they start to share networks with Orange?
     
  15. Richiev4

    Hitman

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 884

    Location: Swindon

    T-Mobile PAYG - £5.00 for 1Gb bolt on, or (and I got this when I got the sim in February) top up £10 this month and get unlimited texts and 1Gb data next month (plus the £10.00 credit), perfect for me as I only really use the phone for the data side and rarely make calls.
     
  16. Richiev4

    Hitman

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 884

    Location: Swindon

    I forgot about that - looking forward to this as reception for T-Mobile at home is rubbish - hence wifi at home and 3G when I'm out
     
  17. Vertigo1

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Dec 2003

    Posts: 15,418

    Orange is 500MB hard cap on Dolphin and 750 FUP on Panther.
     
  18. LiE

    Capodecina

    Joined: 2 Aug 2005

    Posts: 22,257

    Location: Milton Keynes

    I think FUP should be renamed to FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU Policy for most networks.
     
  19. thor

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Nov 2003

    Posts: 2,093

    Location: West London

    3 just changed their "unlimited" internet to a hard capped 500MB FUP - automatic charges if you go above this. For an extra £5pm you can get a bolt-on giving 2GB allowance.
     
  20. V4NT0M

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Jan 2007

    Posts: 19,703

    Location: Land of the Scots

    Coverage is fine for me, no better or worse than anyone else, speed is good too imo, lots of HSDPA too.