Which Router should I buy capable of DD-WRT so I can add VPN

Associate
Which router do I need that I can install dd-wrt and add a vpn service.

I do not need fast WiFi - I only watch the odd YouTube video on my phone
I need 8gb ports but already have a switch I use with my existing virgin router
I am on a 100mb service but would like to maintain over 50mb with encryption

Any suggestions for a suitable router without spending a fortune (under 100 preferable)?

Or should I be looking at an alternative type of device but I am not a network expert?

Cheers

Associate
I think you may struggle to find a router under £100 which meets your requirements. Esepcially one that is capable of maintaining 50meg under encryption load. Could be proved wrong though. You need to make sure it is purely a router and not a modem/router combo as DD-WRT is developed for routers only (EDIT: Just noticed you are with Virgin so scrap that).

Some kind of black friday deal is probably your best bet.

Associate
OP
Thanks. If I need pay more so be it, I just don't need the latest and greatest WiFi features.

Also I probably don't need 50mb really. Just streaming 1080p.

Man of Honour
Bandwidth required to stream 1080p can vary wildly depending on the source/provider. I'm pretty sure Netflix and other similar providers only state 5-8Mbps is required for their 1080p streaming, so unless you're going off the beaten track I wouldn't have thought you'd need more than 10Mbps. Netflix's 4K streaming only needs 25Mbps according to their site, but I've not had first hand experience of that. The Asus RT-N66U is supposed to top out at about 13Mbps using OpenVPN, which should do you fine. I used to run one of these but it would have stunted my 17Mbps connection, so I moved up to a DSL-AC68U (is a RT-AC68U with built in modem) which should push up and beyond 25Mbps, but I have yet to try it out.