1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which SSD do you have in your Mac?

Discussion in 'Apple Hardware' started by Prophet, 18 Jun 2013.

  1. Prophet

    Soldato

    Joined: 5 Oct 2004

    Posts: 7,365

    Location: Notts

    Got to love Apple :)
     
  2. Phate

    Caporegime

    Joined: 1 Nov 2003

    Posts: 35,684

    Location: Lisbon, Portugal

    Enable TRIM to prolong your SSD life. Done.
     
  3. hyper_piper45

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Oct 2003

    Posts: 2,706

    Location: Leicester

    Vertex 3. It has been rock solid for me.
     
  4. bloodiedathame

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 11 May 2007

    Posts: 8,012

    Location: Surrey

    I have an Apple one in my MBP, it's pretty crap compared to the M4 I have in my old MBP.
     
  5. manic111

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Jul 2007

    Posts: 16,584

    Location: Various

    Got an M4 here as well in my 2011 MBP. Backed up onto an external, swapped the drives over, shifted everything back across from the external. Really easy and the speed boost still amazes me six months on.
     
  6. whiskycycle

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 31 May 2004

    Posts: 1,469

    Location: The 'Toon, UK, in Europe

    2011 iMac, so no USB3 :-(

    Dead easy. TB cable, Thunderbolt sled, SSD. I believe anything above 256GB _may_ cause problems due to additional power requirements, resulting in the drive disconnecting and various other niggles.... MacRumors forums have a bit more detailed information.

    Other than that, I just booted from an ML USB stick, fired up Disk Utility and blanked the mechanical drive then installed ML to the TB-connected SSD.

    Once you're installed, use Trim Enabler to switch on TRIM if your SSD requires (and after every point release of the OS, as that detects a non-factory SSD and disables it).

    Although it's possible to use CCC to restore a full backup to the SSD, I didn't bother and preferred clean installation.

    You get a short delay on cold boot while it works out where the bootable OS drive is connected, but other than that it's pretty much full speed. Wake from sleep mode

    I didn't bother relocating my root user data stores and simply shifted my iTunes library and iPhoto library to the mechanical when restoring those.

    That's pretty much it really. It just works after the initial setup!
     
  7. foster grant

    Soldato

    Joined: 10 May 2012

    Posts: 6,213

    Location: North London

    I have two SSDs 1 x Samsung 830 128Gig for my Operating System , 1 x250 Gig Samsung 840 for my games

    Oops sorry lol just seen this was for MAC ..I dont have a MAC lol
     
  8. pingwing

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Apr 2008

    Posts: 19,555

    Location: Bedford

    Mostly because the M4's are cheap and generally reliable (and pretty fast, 256mb write and 500mb read is more than enough)
     
  9. Roughneck

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,573

    Location: Aberdeen

    I used a samsung 840 256 in my Home Built Mac;)
     
  10. Tummy

    Caporegime

    Joined: 4 Sep 2008

    Posts: 28,836

    Location: Yorkshire.

    How easy would it be to replace the HDD in a new MacBook Pro Retina or a new iMac?

    Very tempted to get an iMac after the summer and a new retina MacBook Pro for starting Uni, however how do the Apple faster drives compare to buying and installing a drive?
     
  11. PardonTheWait

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 Aug 2003

    Posts: 24,055

    250GB Samsung 840 (not the pro).

    100% happy with it. Fast and hasn't given me any trouble at all. I just installed it, got Trim Enabler and I haven't done anything since. Splendid.
     
  12. divuk83

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 8 Mar 2006

    Posts: 1,366

    Location: York

    I have a Kingston V+200 120gb in my iMac, though I never enabled trim as I read conflicting info about the need to enable it with sandforce drives.

    Dave
     
  13. Elric

    Hitman

    Joined: 12 Jun 2004

    Posts: 786

    Location: IOM

    I have a Crucial M4 512GB in my MBP.
     
  14. Housey

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 21 Feb 2006

    Posts: 26,588

    I have put a Samsung 256GB into my MBP and am very pleased with how it performs.
     
  15. duffers20

    Gangster

    Joined: 11 Aug 2005

    Posts: 160

    I've got a Crucial M500 240GB in my mid 2009 MBP. Best hardware upgrade I've ever done.

    Did a clean install from a USB memory stick which was a piece of cake. Enabled trim with the enabler once installed. Very happy with the performance!
     
  16. zyfar

    Gangster

    Joined: 15 Sep 2011

    Posts: 182

    Location: Liverpool

    250GB Samsung 840 works like a charm :)
     
  17. Audigex

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Feb 2009

    Posts: 2,238

    I've got an M4 about to go into my Mid-2010 MacBook, only a 60GB but it's basically going to be a development system so I'm not too fussed about space.
     
  18. Westyfield2

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Dec 2005

    Posts: 12,494

    Location: Bath

    I just put a spare Crucial M4 I had into an old MBP (gave the drive a secure erase and firmware update on PC). Clean install of Mountain Lion, and it's running fine.

    Wat's the current verdict on enabling TRIM or just relying on built in Garbage Collection?