1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

who is running win 64

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by ozzyDe, 25 Apr 2007.

  1. ozzyDe

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Mar 2006

    Posts: 349

    How are you getting on with it, I'm thinking of going over to Xp 64 and dual boot with vista. I have all the drivers for 64, but cant get all the drivers for vista
    its just I have a 64bit proc so I might as well use it by installing win64.
    I cant make my mind up someone help.

    cheers
    D
     
  2. NathanE

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,022

    Location: London & Singapore

    I use XP x64 and Vista x64 and never have any problems. Although I've only installed C&C3 on the Vista rig so far... and the XP x64 machine doesn't even know games exist :p
     
  3. ozzyDe

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Mar 2006

    Posts: 349

    by that statement you mean its fast and handels games with out any problems.
    I hope
     
  4. Tute

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Jul 2004

    Posts: 22,385

    Location: Devon, UK

    A lot of the reason people don't trust 64-bit operating systems is the fact that XP64 was poorly supported and had bad support.

    But that's all changed, Vista x64 is a different thing entirely. Driver support for x64 is as good as for x86, and there is no performance penalty to running your 32-bit applications in a 64-bit environment.

    The only issues with Vista x64 are the same ones that affect the x86 version.
     
  5. Elevon

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Sep 2006

    Posts: 3,168

    I'm using Vista x64 and compatibility and gaming support is excellent IMHO.

    Games I have installed.

    Star Wars Galaxies
    Vanguard
    WoW + exp pack
    Morrowind with both exp packs
    Oblivion
    Jedi Academy
    Jedi Outcast
    KOTOR
    KOTOR 2 (with DDL patch for sound fix)
    Might & Magic 8
    Starcraft +exp pack
    Prey
    UFO-Afterlight
    Silverfall
    Baldur's Gate + exp pack
    Baldur's Gate 2 + exp pack
    Steam(CS,TFC,DoD etc..)
    UT2004
    9 dragons
    Dark&Light
    XCOM-Enforcer.
    Space Rangers 2 (without Starforce).
     
  6. Cob

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Jul 2006

    Posts: 18,202

    Location: Antrim town

    I run both x64 XP and Vista.

    There's very few issues with x64 XP these days. IMO it's more stable than x86 XP and allows me to use all my RAM.

    There's a few more issues with x64 Vista, but they're more to do with it being a brand new OS than the OS itself.
     
  7. Lysander

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Aug 2005

    Posts: 16,908

    Location: Flatland

    Add

    Condemned Criminal Originins
    Need For Speed Most Wanted
    Need For Speed Underground 2
    FEAR
    Quake4
     
  8. ColinR

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Nov 2004

    Posts: 391

    Location: Herts. UK

    I don't recall coming across a game that doesn't install on XP x64 (though Final Reality, and the two oldest 3DMarks won't).
    I suspect System Shock 2 won't install (as it didn't on Windows 2000 moaning about NT not having DirectX 4 support).
    AVG Free won't run on it, but that's stated on the AVG website (though AVG Pay will).

    Games installed:
    Quake 4, Quake 3, Quake 2, Civ 4, Dawn Of War, Baldur's Gate 1 & 2, Oblivion, Fear, Steam stuff, C&C The First Decade (and the C&C3 demo ran), WinUAE, MAME32, Aliens Vs Predator 2.

    Plus myriad of expansion packs for the above games.
     
  9. ROfu

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 333

    Location: London

    Windows XP 64, is one of the most stable OS youll find, I've been using xp64 in work as well as linux 64bit, and to be honest in my personal experience windows XP64 is more stable. Over the year ive run the system apart from a few mandatory restarts (windows updates :p) the system never went down or had any issues (the machine was used in film production and gets absolutely hammered by Maya and other 3D software).
    Games are hit and miss on any 64bit OS, with Stalker theres a hack to run the exe so its more stable, Colin Mcrae rally 2005 just wont run (copy protection drivers are incompatible) but other than that.. everything runs fine. I would go so far as to say it feels a little quicker than its 32bit little brother.
    The obvious advantages concerning memory management are a massive plus for heavy duty professional applications like Maya, Photoshop and After Effects. all using the extra memory perfectly fine.
    If your looking for a very very solid OS windows XP 64bit is a great choice - drivers are now mature and there are plenty of them (still worth checking all your hardware has the drivers before commiting though)
    As far as Vista 64bit.... well its vista isnt it.. so its unstable, buggy .. but looks nice ;) personaly i would still consider vista a beta product, and although driver support is considerably better than windows XP 64bit was when it was released - theres still alot of random applications and drivers which either dont exist or are buggy.

    Personal advice would be.
    Windows XP 64bit = Best Windows OS currently available and by far the most stable.
    Windows Vista 64bit (any version) = wait for service pack 1 before commiting.
    On a final note.. .just because you have a 64bit CPU .. doesnt mean youll be getting any more juice out of it .. unless your using applications which require or benifit from the additional ram - you only gain Stability not speed.


    Cheers
    ROfu
     
  10. FrankJH

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jun 2005

    Posts: 22,541

    I run vista 64 on a small shuttle - really only used for media playback (mp3's and dvd's) and its seemingly ok.
     
  11. Datamonkey

    Soldato

    Joined: 21 Jan 2003

    Posts: 6,773

    Location: Kempston - Bedfordshire

    XP x64 is as good if not better than xp pro now.

    If you have a 64bit cpu i see no reason why you shouldnt switch over.

    Its faster and more stable than xp, even better now sp2 has been released for it. not that i had any issues pre sp1.

    1 thing though, the 64bit ie7 is a pain, as in there appears to be a lack of flash players and such for it. But as 32bit ie7 or 6 if you prefer is also present by default its not really an issue.


    This is used on my main rig, which is my gaming machine, no issues playing any games at all. Been using it for nigh on a year and half now.
     
  12. ozzyDe

    Gangster

    Joined: 31 Mar 2006

    Posts: 349

    thank alll, I am now going to format and put xp64 on and leave a partion for vista.

    cheers
    D
     
  13. bfar

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Jul 2004

    Posts: 2,480

    Vista 64 is running absolutely fine for me. Since Nvidia released their last driver, its all been sweet.

    Some games like BattleField2 need to be run in admin mode - thats about it.
     
  14. subaru_swift

    Gangster

    Joined: 28 Oct 2006

    Posts: 392

    Location: stoke on trent\bromsgrove


    same as above ;-), with sp2 on it, it does feel & run smother than 32bit /x86 pro.
     
  15. ColinR

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Nov 2004

    Posts: 391

    Location: Herts. UK

    A wise man once told me to never install a Microsoft OS before Service Pack One.

    As there's currently no point to getting hold of a copy of Vista (no DX10 games out) I shan't be. But if your machine came with Vista pre-installed, or you need to get an OS anyway, you may as well use Vista, as that nugget of advice was before the advent of Windows Update, and indeed the support provided by easy internet access.
     
  16. manoz

    Soldato

    Joined: 30 Jul 2006

    Posts: 5,529

    Location: Leeds Booo..

    Using xp x64 and now problems whatsoever with drivers(except my old scanner but that's more to tell me I need to replace the aging piece of junk)
     
  17. ColinR

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Nov 2004

    Posts: 391

    Location: Herts. UK

    I remembered last night that the force feedback on my Saitek Cyborg FF doesn't work. When I first installed it, the spring didn't even work, so it flopped about uselessly. It has improved, but still no FF (the test in Game Controllers CP causes errors).
     
  18. NathanE

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,022

    Location: London & Singapore

    Because of course everyone who has bought Vista has only done so in order to play DX10 games.... :/