1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why does 1 site take ages to load ?

Discussion in 'HTML, Graphics & Programming' started by David _b, 19 Feb 2006.

  1. David _b

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Mar 2004

    Posts: 2,430

    Location: N Ireland

    Hi

    my internet conenction is 1 meg broadband and is excellent for all the usual browsing using firefox. However if i try to get onto that famous auction site it takes ages to load if at all...the same in IE so does'nt matter on the browser. I have cleared cache and tried .com and .co.uk but its always the same. Then when it does load its full of errors and has basically no formatting.

    Anyone have any ideas cause its getting on my nerves :(

    Thanks
     
  2. punky_munky

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,964

    Have you tried sticking www. in front of it because when I leave it out the page won't load for me. Maybe you could contact your ISP?

    BTW, I don't think is the right forum for this sort of question.
     
  3. David _b

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Mar 2004

    Posts: 2,430

    Location: N Ireland

    Tried www. etc but no go...maybe a don can move to a more appropriate place ?

    thanks
     
  4. uk_viper

    Mobster

    Joined: 30 Jun 2003

    Posts: 2,807

    Location: Berkshire

    try clearing your cookies, aswell that may help
     
  5. Goksly

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Mar 2003

    Posts: 10,624

    Location: Nottingham

    Do you have a firewall etc? I had problems with that site + sygate personal firewall.... add some advance properties and tis all good now.
     
  6. unknowndomain

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Apr 2004

    Posts: 2,613

    Location: London

    possibly your always visiting in busy times