1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why is Windows 7 Boot up take ages on my SSD?

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by mkohman, 15 May 2010.

  1. mkohman

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Sep 2009

    Posts: 199

    Hey All,

    I really hope you guys can help me.. I recently built my pc..

    Antec P183 Case

    Gigabyte EX58-UD5 Intel X58 Motherboard

    Intel Core i7 920 D0 Stepping (SLBEJ) 2.66Ghz

    Corsair H50-1

    Corsair XMS3 6GB PC3-12800C9 DDR3

    Sapphire 5770 1GB New Edition

    Corsair 1000W Power Supply

    4 x 1.5 TB seagate 7200 RPM 32mb cache for storage

    1 x Kingston 40GB SSDNow (Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit)


    I also have a WD external 1TB hdd connected via usb2.0

    Now the problem I am having is that whenever I start up my pc the windows screen is hanging for long periods.. sometimes 5 mins.. I can not uinderstand why..

    Today I did a fresh install on my SSD and still the same what is interfearing? Can someone please help me.. this is so annoying..

    Thanks..
     
  2. MarcLister

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Mar 2005

    Posts: 18,956

    Location: LU7

    Latest firmware for the SSD? Try unplugging the external HDD and see if that helps. Any idea which bit of the boot-up takes the longest? I.e. the Windows 7 screens or stuff before that?
     
  3. theheyes

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jan 2007

    Posts: 8,945

    Location: Manchester

    Perhaps try Safe Mode as well and see if the problem goes away.
     
  4. mkohman

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Sep 2009

    Posts: 199

    thanks for the reply.. well bios screen comes and goes quick all is good but when it says starting windows and the colorful logo comes this takes ages and ages to finish and THEN the password screen comes..

    Any ideas how I can install the latest firmware for the Kingston 40GB SSDNow and does this drive now support trimming in windows 7?

    If this doesn't work do you think it may be the WD external 1GB hdd causing it to hang..?

    Thanks
     
  5. Art

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Jan 2009

    Posts: 2,048

    I've had exactly the same issue using my GA-MA790XT-UD4P and an SSD: I'd originally installed the SSD under IDE mode and things worked grand, but after switching to AHCI and making the right changes in the Windows 7 registry to make AHCI work Windows would take an eternity to boot but shut down in record time.

    After Googling about a bit (e.g. see here) there were a few people complaining of the same thing on different Gigabyte boards, and as far as I know people were generally accusing Gigabyte of making a hash of the AHCI implementation in the BIOS.

    I don't think Gigabyte ever fixed this for my board, but it might be worth checking the BIOS for yours, or try running the SSD in IDE mode and see if it is any better.

    EDIT: Oooh, it looks like they *have* updated the AHCI/RAID ROM for my board. I may have to try this....
     
    Last edited: 15 May 2010
  6. SiriusB

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Dec 2005

    Posts: 14,448

    Location: Manchester

    I have the Gigabyte X58-UD7 and an Intel 80GB SSD and I have had no issues at all with IDE or AHCI mode.

    Booting in Safe Mode is a good way to see if something is not playing ball on booting up [Safe Mode only loads absolutely essential stuff, nothing else]. If it is still slow it would point to a possible hardware issue.
     
  7. mkohman

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Sep 2009

    Posts: 199

    I found this link where it guides to flash the SSD with a modified firmware to enable trimming on the 40GB SSDNOW.. would you not reccomend to do this?

    http://www.overclock.net/ssd/656984-how-get-your-kingston-40gb-ssd.html

    Also I will try booting in safe mode .. if it boots okl in safe mode what does that mean or if it dooesnt what would be the steps I would need to take?
     
  8. OLDPHART

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 Jun 2004

    Posts: 6,564

    Location: n/east-the toon

  9. littledave

    Hitman

    Joined: 25 Dec 2002

    Posts: 623

    Location: Brighton

    Do you really need to tweak anything? IIRC the only tweaks I have done is to disable system restore, but I always do that anyway.
     
  10. mkohman

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Sep 2009

    Posts: 199


    mate we seem to have a similar setup.. how long does your windows 7 take to boot up ..? thanks
     
  11. littledave

    Hitman

    Joined: 25 Dec 2002

    Posts: 623

    Location: Brighton

    Its doesnt take long at all, about 20secs BIOS & 20 secs Win 7 Boot up.

    I would say the BIOS bit takes the longest. Will upload vid soon as youtube has processed it.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HbqPdvmfCrc
    Cannot embed for some reason
     
    Last edited: 15 May 2010
  12. mkohman

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Sep 2009

    Posts: 199

  13. mkohman

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Sep 2009

    Posts: 199

    btw I did the firmware update and my Kingston 40GB now supports TRIM FANTASTIC :) you should give it a try and my boot ups have decreased to less than 20 secs lol amazing :)