1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wierd OC problem on MSI P45 Platinum

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by GingaNinja, 14 Sep 2009.

  1. GingaNinja

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 644

    Location: Maidenhead

    Well I'm vexed. Using a Q6600 and MSI's proprietary DualCoreCenter software I can get some pretty decent overclocks from within Windows, but if I apply the same settings in the BIOS I can't get the board to POST reliably. I've tried more conservative OCs and higher voltages, and I've ensured that the RAM is running within spec, but the board doesn't want to play.

    I'd settle for being able to OC from within Windows, only I run into this little problem with Crysis. Any ideas as to why I can't get a 3.2GHz OC in BIOS (8x400) but I can get as high as 3.4GHz stable from within Windows.

    Ginga
     
  2. SkodaMart

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Jul 2009

    Posts: 3,645

    Location: Manchester

    Try 356x9 to start with.
    My Q6700 needed 1.31875v for 3.4Ghz, different mobo though.
     
  3. GingaNinja

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 644

    Location: Maidenhead

    Yeah - I suppose I need to muck about with the settings some more. The odd thing is that I can loop 3DMark06 indefinitely in Windows at about 1.28 V no problems at all, but if I manually enter these settings into the BIOS, it won't boot. (Well sometimes it will, but not reliably.) I might also try updating the BIOS.

    I did try 9x356 but the outcome was the same.

    Ginga
     
  4. Reality|Bites

    Soldato

    Joined: 5 Apr 2006

    Posts: 6,155

    It probably needs more power to boot up initially than it does to sit idle or run 3dmark.
     
  5. GingaNinja

    Hitman

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 644

    Location: Maidenhead

    Perhaps, but I've upped the voltage on the core, and I have a decent PSU (PC Power & Cooling 910W). One thing I discovered was that, even at conservative increases in FSB from 266 to 300 (2.7GHz), it wouldn't boot reliably. I think I need a BIOS update. Another thing I might try is to use the jumpers on the mobo to set the default FSB to 400.

    Ginga