1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

wifi booster/extender - how does it work?

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by wesley, 6 May 2021.

  1. wesley

    Soldato

    Joined: 29 Jul 2003

    Posts: 7,491

    hi guys

    how does the wifi booster/extender work?

    i have 4 Ring wifi cameras on the way, i think the front of my house will not have a great wifi signal as the wifi router is at the back upstairs.

    before order a wifi booster/extender, how does it work? will it and the wifi router have the same SSID? or configure the camera to connect to the wifi booster with its own SSID?

    thanks
     
  2. MissChief

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Jul 2010

    Posts: 20,125

    Generally they have the same SSID and Password so your devices roam between them automatically depending on which device has the strongest signal.
     
  3. wesley

    Soldato

    Joined: 29 Jul 2003

    Posts: 7,491

    Interesting thanks

    I know some wireless devices would connect to the weaker one for no reason. I'm worried about losing the connection with the WiFi cameras.
     
    Last edited: 6 May 2021
  4. Elevon

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Sep 2006

    Posts: 3,168


    I'm on wired (main gaming PC) via powerline adaptors that has WiFi extender as well, when I connect my laptop (wireless) I prefer to use a new SSID and password, I can clone my SSID on the WiFi on my router SSID if I wish as well, anyway the WiFi extender on my powerline adaptors gives me three times faster speed connection then without using the WiFi extender on my powerline adaptor, they are in the same room as my laptop on top floor (third floor).

    So I go wired from ground floor router to powerline adaptor, then wired to gaming PC on third floor via second powerline adaptor, and wireless for that adaptor as well to laptop via the built-in WifI extender, simple really.

    I have it set up more then that really, since my powerline adaptor on third floor has three ethernet ports , so one to main gaming PC and one to my Linux PC, third to my eight port gigabit switch which allows me more wired connections like my Android TV, Kodi box etc...
     
    Last edited: 6 May 2021
  5. BigT

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,269

    Location: UK

    If you're going to use a WiFi extender remember it needs to sit part way between the main router and the dead spot, not where the deadspot is otherwise it won't have a strong enough signal to repeat/extend.
     
  6. Orcvader

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Oct 2009

    Posts: 14,540

    Location: Greater London

    I've never found extenders/boosters to be reliable, and for speed they're not that great.

    If you're unable to run a cable to another access point closer to the cameras, you could maybe consider a mesh system instead, I found they do better speed/reliability wise, and these Ring cameras do demand a good connection.
     
  7. Efour

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Sep 2005

    Posts: 26,779

    Location: Norrbotten, Sweden.


    You can have both. A MESH eneabled extending one one will automatically allow roaming and swap between the strongest signal. I upgraded to that when my router got the feature from a bios flash. I have TPLink, it works.. I cant say more than that.

    You don't technically need that "roaming" if its just going to be for 4 wireless cameras.

    Infact it might be better to keep them devices separate on their own little extension. you could name it something to reflect its use then just hide the SSID after.
     
  8. wesley

    Soldato

    Joined: 29 Jul 2003

    Posts: 7,491

    Thanks. How can you tell which WiFi is the devices connect to if they have the same ssid?
     
  9. Efour

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Sep 2005

    Posts: 26,779

    Location: Norrbotten, Sweden.

    On mine i can look in the Router administration software. http://192.168.0.1/ or there about.
    TPlink also have apps and it will show all clients connected to each device amongst a million other things.
    I suspect every decent home router manufacture to have the same if not better.

    The roaming Mesh system will just offer the best signal to the device, but a static device.....doesn't really matter, whatever is closer or stronger.