1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Will AM2 equal no new models cpu's for socket 939

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by WatchTower, 15 May 2006.

  1. WatchTower

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Jan 2005

    Posts: 4,433

    Location: Stoke-On-Trent

    I'm sure we'll see a few Sempron models on the 939 but I'm not sure about anything else. Dose anyone else any info on this?
     
  2. Jokester

    Don

    Joined: 7 Aug 2003

    Posts: 41,442

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    Pretty much by all accounts. AMD are stopping taking orders for S939 CPUs at the end of this year so it's unlikely that they'll be anymore new, faster CPUs.

    Jokester
     
  3. WatchTower

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Jan 2005

    Posts: 4,433

    Location: Stoke-On-Trent

    Man as soon as I buy a new mobo cpu and so on the sockest out a date within a couple of months. :mad:
     
  4. Defcon5

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 6,424

    Location: Whitwood, West Yorks

    Does that include the optys?
     
  5. div0

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Jan 2006

    Posts: 3,600

    Location: Edinburgh

    I believe so....
     
  6. Axil

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Apr 2006

    Posts: 571

    Location: Port Talbot

    yay second time in a row AMD has done that to me :( - first with S754 and then s939 (just upgraded to opty 170 from a A64 3200 s754) Thanks AMD think you may have just convinced me to go Intel on my next upgrade and the last time I did that was early PIII days
     
  7. WatchTower

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Jan 2005

    Posts: 4,433

    Location: Stoke-On-Trent

    You have my luck. :D I bought a new Intel 478 socket mobo and socket 775 came out. I now havean AMD socket 939 and in a few months socket AM2 comes out. :eek:

    Didn't someone post about a 3Ghz opty that's coming out for socket 939 not long ago?
     
  8. speeduk

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 3 Mar 2003

    Posts: 7,503

    Location: Canterbury

    You guys crying about the new standard are silly. Intel change standards a lot more often than what AMD have done. :confused:
     
  9. Jokester

    Don

    Joined: 7 Aug 2003

    Posts: 41,442

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    You'll be happy to hear that S754 will outlive S939 :p .

    Jokester
     
  10. Jokester

    Don

    Joined: 7 Aug 2003

    Posts: 41,442

    Location: Aberdeenshire

    Yeah, I would expect that to be as fast as S939 will go on single core.

    Jokester
     
  11. turbotoaster

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,194

    a 3ghz opty came out on socket 940, though i doubt they will do one on 939 as that would be faster than fx57 and amd said they wouldnt do any chips faster than fx57 on 939
     
  12. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,772

    Location: Autonomy


    You have a great system.Just because a new socket comes out doesn't make your PC obsolete.

    Clock that opteron 170 to FX 62 speeds like me.No interest in AM2 Im still up there with the big boys for some time yet!

    I wouldn't advise to buy into AM2 straught away anyway.Flakey mobo's with unstable bios' etc....

    Wait for a bit until it gets established and the latentcies of the DDR 2 ram gets better.
     
  13. Defcon5

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 6,424

    Location: Whitwood, West Yorks

    Wait til they bring out a core revision/new processor line up.

    the current a64s dont use all the extra memory bandwidth of ddr2, but they have used ddr2 for a reason, so wait for that reason.
     
  14. Baddison

    Gangster

    Joined: 25 Oct 2004

    Posts: 112

    Location: Bristol

    I've pretty much come to accept that I will have to change the mobo when changing the cpu. This time we will also have to change ram to ddr2. A bit annoying - but it is progress and not just change for the sake of change.
     
  15. WatchTower

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Jan 2005

    Posts: 4,433

    Location: Stoke-On-Trent

    If you had two pc the same in everyway apart from one using DDR and the other using DDR2 will there realy be a huge dif in performce between them? I think AMD should have carried on with 939 until they could make a CPU thats actualy something special instead of bringing a 939 chip that accepts DDR2 which will be known as socket AM2.
     
  16. Duke

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 29 Jun 2003

    Posts: 33,648

    Location: Wiltshire

    I would say they have been forced a little by Intel and the main memory manufacturers to move onto DDR2.
     
  17. Goody_GTI

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Mar 2006

    Posts: 2,494

    Location: Nottingham

    Plus AM2 will see the release of the 65nm processed chips
     
  18. Webzta

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,200

    Everyone seems to be engrossed only by amd's current events.

    I find this puzzling, I have no preference over amd/intel, I simply buy what is best at the time.

    What about intels up and coming? Conroe?

    I think most people will be upgrading to that, for the near future, whilst amd come up with something to rival/beat it

    Just my opinion
     
  19. Biggles 266

    Gangster

    Joined: 15 May 2004

    Posts: 493

    Processor sockets have a shorter lifespan now than they used to. You just have to get used to the fact that the days of having a Duron 600 to a 1700XP to a 2500XP-M and only going through a couple of boards are gone. It's the same with Intel, sort of, in that most Socket 775 boards will not be compatible with dual core, let alone with Conroe.

    I had thought that for my next system I'd probably skip Socket 754 and Socket 939 and move from Socket A to AM2 and just get DDR2 whilst I was at it. But... Socket AM2 looks to have a shorter lifespan than 939 will, as the new K8L core will be using DDR3 and be compatible with FB-DIMM. And it's due within a year. So I'll either drag out my Socket A system for another year, or I'll do a partial upgrade and go Socket 939 after all, which would allow me to keep my RAM at least.

    That's not to say that AM2 won't be worth buying. You'll get a fast system at a price roughly equivalent to current prices and have more of an upgrade path. Argh. Choice is such a bad thing!