1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

will current mobo be okay

Discussion in 'New to PC gaming & upgrade advice' started by marco.da.man, 27 May 2020.

  1. marco.da.man

    Hitman

    Joined: 9 May 2012

    Posts: 849

    Location: South Wales

    Afternoon all

    Im just wandering if anyone has run a ryzen 3600 on a gigabyte aorus ax370 gaming 5 mobo ?

    Im currently running it with a ryzen 1700 @ 3.9ghz 32gig team group 8pack dark pro edition 3200mhz ram and a evga 1171 2070xc gpu. Seasonic Focus Plus 650w 80 Plus gold modular psu. H115i platinum cooler

    Would I still be able to oc the 3600 if needed and VRM's still be good ?
    Will I experience any preformance lose on the 3600 from it being an older board ?

    I cant afford to change the mobo at the minute, but maybe in future, but with my current specs I'm finding on gta fivem and rdr2 I'm experencing FPS drops etc

    My mobo is updated too latest F50a bios ready to go

    cheers all
     
  2. Gray2233

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Oct 2010

    Posts: 3,580

  3. Joxeon

    Mobster

    Joined: 15 Oct 2019

    Posts: 3,568

    Location: Uk

    Pretty sure you would be fine especially with the Vrm as the 3600 uses less power than a 1700.
     
  4. marco.da.man

    Hitman

    Joined: 9 May 2012

    Posts: 849

    Location: South Wales

    cheers gents
     
  5. pastymuncher

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 12 Jul 2005

    Posts: 18,768

    Location: Aberlour, NE Scotland

    Do those games make use of all the cores they can get? You may be gaining 500mhz boost clock but you would be losing 2 cores/4 threads so wouldn't a 3700x make more sense? If you have access to our MM there have been some 3700x's coming up at very resonable prices recently.
     
  6. marco.da.man

    Hitman

    Joined: 9 May 2012

    Posts: 849

    Location: South Wales

    yo pasty, as far as i know red dead 2 runs better on more cores and threads, saying that at presnt time I only have a £170 budget. I am about 170 posts I think from MM
     
  7. Joxeon

    Mobster

    Joined: 15 Oct 2019

    Posts: 3,568

    Location: Uk

  8. marco.da.man

    Hitman

    Joined: 9 May 2012

    Posts: 849

    Location: South Wales

    cheers joxeon, yeah im just at 1080p that it