1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Will my PSU Cope?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Iamzod, 2 Mar 2006.

  1. Iamzod

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Dec 2002

    Posts: 3,578

    Location: UK

    Looking into purchasing a A64 3700+ and either an X1800XT or a 7800GT and a motherboard which i am as of yet undecided on.

    Now, i do not think i would be overclocking again, not until i have a new PSU and have gotten around to returning my old memory, but is there any chance my current PSU would cope for a month or two?

    Would remove all but 1 or 2 case fans for now, both cathodes, probably a HDD, CDRW & the fan controller for the time being too.

    Now its ages since i looked into PC parts so i do not know really what i'm needing now, currently have an Enermax 353W PSU (26a on the +12v i beleive from memory).

    The PSU is currently running the following -

    Abit NF-7 V2
    AMD 2500+ @ 3200 (used to run it at around 2450MHz (ish) 24x7 1.85v until my old RAM died)
    2x512MB Sticks of DDR (again, used to run my old ram 220+ MHz at 3.01v)
    R9800 PRO @ 411/360
    CDRW
    DVDRW
    5x 80mm Fans
    1x 92mm Fan
    Fan Controller
    120GB WD Caviar IDE HDD
    250GB WD Caviar IDE HDD
    Soundblaster Audigy PCI Soundcard
    2 x Cathodes
     
  2. Zefan

    Don

    Joined: 15 Jan 2006

    Posts: 30,817

    Location: Tosche Station

    No, I'd get a more powerful one simply because of the multiple HDD's and Optical drives, let alone the new hardware.

    :edit: you'll also NEED a new PSU for the newer motherboard (ATX 2.0)
     
  3. Iamzod

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Dec 2002

    Posts: 3,578

    Location: UK

    :)
     
  4. Zefan

    Don

    Joined: 15 Jan 2006

    Posts: 30,817

    Location: Tosche Station

    :o I should read really, but you will need one for ATX 2.0.
     
  5. Iamzod

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Dec 2002

    Posts: 3,578

    Location: UK

    Says its "Intel ATX Ver 2.1 & ATX 12V 1.2 Compatible" on the box??

    /confused :D
     
  6. Zefan

    Don

    Joined: 15 Jan 2006

    Posts: 30,817

    Location: Tosche Station

    If it's older than 1yr old then it's very unlikey to have ATX 2.0 compatibility.
     
  7. Iamzod

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Dec 2002

    Posts: 3,578

    Location: UK

    This one-

    linky

    meh, i need to start reading into parts now, only decided i'm upgrading an hour ago now Oblivion has a shipping date :D
     
  8. loltim

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 14,605

    Location: Wellington, NZ

    Finally upgrading then?:cool:

    I'd say that PSU would be fine for now, I used to run my 7800GT on a similar wattage PSU. Not recommended, but yeah it should cope.

    Why not purchase PSU at same time as CPU and GFX etc.?
     
  9. Iamzod

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Dec 2002

    Posts: 3,578

    Location: UK

    Yep, finally upgrading.

    Dont want to buy a PSU until next month, saving too much money to build a garage atm :(
     
  10. loltim

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 14,605

    Location: Wellington, NZ

    But it isn't worth risking a £250 GFX card, I'd get the PSU first as GFX card prices drop, PSU prices don't (much).

    Look at the Seasonic and Enermax 600/620W's:)
     
  11. BigDom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2002

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Birmingham

    430W tagan will be plenty. 500+W is overkill unless your really pushing a system. RAID arrays, Dual Core CPU's and dual graphics solutions.
     
  12. loltim

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 14,605

    Location: Wellington, NZ

    Maybe, but I'm not going to recommend a Tagan.
     
  13. BigDom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2002

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Birmingham

    Well I am :).
     
  14. Browncoat

    Associate

    Joined: 23 Feb 2006

    Posts: 38

    Location: Wales/Cornwall/Sth Africa

    I'm in the same situation as Iamzod as im looking to upgrade to a similar spec to his but wanted to keep my old power supply, it's a Globalwin Supersilent TOP420-P4 (~2years old).

    I was told that it would be possible to use this PSU with an ATX2.0 motherboard and that it would simply need a 20pin to 24pin adapter, is this the case?
     
  15. Jimbo Mahoney

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,347

    Just FYI, in the box of my new X1900XT was a warning note saying that I should ensure my PSU was at least 450 watts AND 30A on the 12v rail! :eek:

    Luckily, I have 33A on the 12v rail.

    /pats OCZ Powerstream
     
  16. ACESHIGH

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,305

    yes that is possible, if good PSU, i wouldnt worry too much
     
  17. Iamzod

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Dec 2002

    Posts: 3,578

    Location: UK

    hmmm, ok.

    How much do you reckon my old PSU, Motherbord, graphics card, Processor And SLK900 Cooler would be worth?

    Never considered selling the parts i'm replacing for some reason :confused: