1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Will Physics Cards be requirement for Crysis

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by Varone, 28 Jul 2006.

  1. Varone

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Jul 2006

    Posts: 31

    Location: Brighton, UK

    Title says it all really. Crysis is boasting huge physics detail, all bushes in jungle moving about, collapsing trees then throw explosions into all that and you have some pretty hefty physics, so I wondered if anyone knew of the requirements Crysis will have to run at full pace. I'm currently building a beast of a PC but a bit unsure about Physics cards and Crysis is one of the games I want to really get the full experience from.
     
  2. Mud

    Mobster

    Joined: 13 Dec 2004

    Posts: 3,186

    Location: Bristol

    Severely doubt it...it'd cull most of their potential customers, and the physics cards have been naff so far anyhow.
     
  3. Psyk

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 8,444

    Location: Leamington Spa

    Nope it won't. Pretty sure it uses completely software physics.
     
  4. Supercow

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Aug 2003

    Posts: 13,988

    Location: Straya

    How would anyone know if they havent said anything about it yet ?
     
  5. Mp4

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 21 Apr 2006

    Posts: 8,475

    Location: Eastbourne

    Joystiq have the specs up apparently from one of the developers off the crysis forum (not official so...): from the site.

    Minimum Requirements:

    CPU: Athlon 64 3000+/Intel 2.8ghz
    Graphics: Nvidia 6600/X800GTO (SM 2.0)
    RAM: 768Mb/1Gb on Windows Vista
    HDD: 6GB
    Internet: 256k+
    Optical Drive: DVD
    Software: DX9.0c with Windows XP

    Recommended Requirements:

    CPU: Dual-core CPU (Athlon X2/Pentium D)
    Graphics: Nvidia 7800GTX/ATI X1800XT (SM 3.0) or DX10 equivalent
    RAM: 1.5Gb
    HDD: 6GB
    Internet: 512k+ (128k+ upstream)
    Optical Drive: DVD
    Software: DX10 with Windows Vista
     
  6. gord

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2003

    Posts: 19,338

    Location: Midlands

    I know that they have been asked that.

    Their answer was no. They are not supporting the physics cards.

    And those specs released are not official. (as you say)
     
  7. Combat squirrel

    Capodecina

    Joined: 7 Aug 2004

    Posts: 10,479

    From what I Understand from various videos and interviews with the developers its totally software physics, although highly advanced physics and has been optimised to run on dual cores, 1 core running 'the game' one running the physics. I dare say I bet you will not be able to run 'maxed out' physics on a single core pc, just high detail physics or something, this course is all my personal opinion
     
  8. img

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 Mar 2005

    Posts: 631

    id be suprised if you could put all detail on with the current hardware at the time.
     
  9. modo77

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,663

    Location: Sol System

    Because they are not going to make a game which "needs" one. Unless they really only want to sell a multimillion pound game to about 10 people. :)
     
  10. gord

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2003

    Posts: 19,338

    Location: Midlands

    All games 'need' a graphics card :)
     
  11. modo77

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,663

    Location: Sol System

    We are talking about physics cards
     
  12. gord

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2003

    Posts: 19,338

    Location: Midlands

    You do know that we havnt always had dedicated graphics cards in Pcs.
     
  13. oweneades

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jul 2005

    Posts: 9,149

    IIRC they have their own physics engine for the game which is probably an advanced version of the one from farcry (at a guess). No requirement for a physics card no.

    I am also assuming crysis will be heavily optimized for dual core pcs.
     
  14. modo77

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Aug 2004

    Posts: 3,663

    Location: Sol System

    No of course I don't, I thought it was just magic that displayed everything on the screen. Any computer has always had some kind of graphics card.
    Not sure what your getting at. The op asked if physics cards are a requirement for crysis. I've not mentioned standard graphics cards!
     
    Last edited: 29 Jul 2006
  15. skullman

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 May 2004

    Posts: 2,472

    Location: York

    I think games have come quite a long way since dedicated 3D accelerators first came into the market. Besides I dont think the physics are that advanced in Crysis.
     
  16. gord

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2003

    Posts: 19,338

    Location: Midlands

    Sorry i have been a bit cryptic. I know were talking about physics cards but imagine back to when 3d cards first came out.

    Games back then didnt need a dedicated GPU so why did it take off? because the industry utilised the technology and it became a standard. I can see the same happening with physics processors if multiple core central processors dont take their market.

    And in the future you can say games have come a long way since the introduction of the physics card. And i dont want to rain on your parade about the crysis physics.. but i think they are going to be unbelievable.. i mean you can destroy the forest.
     
  17. Psyk

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 8,444

    Location: Leamington Spa

    Well it's way too early to make games that require a physics card. Early 3D hardware accelerated games didn't require one, they also had a software renderer. Personally I think Havok's GPU based solution is more likely to catch on than dedicated physics cards. The way I understand Havok's method means you have a second graphics card that will actually be resposible for physics calculations. That way there will be a wider range of cards available for physics, plus there might be a way of using both for graphics if the game doesn't need physics acceleration.
     
  18. titaniumx3

    Soldato

    Joined: 11 May 2006

    Posts: 5,753

    The need for graphics acceleration back in the 3dfx voodoo days was far greater than physics acceleration is today. Physics in games is stilly fairly superficial in games and doesn't really stress modern games too much. Dual/multicore CPUs and GPUs are really the way forward.
     
  19. gord

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2003

    Posts: 19,338

    Location: Midlands

    Id agree, i think multicore CPUs as Crytek are doing will take the load for the physics.
     
  20. skullman

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 May 2004

    Posts: 2,472

    Location: York

    Yeah it certainly looks impressive...cutting down trees etc.....thats not been done before, and its good to see they are actually putting the physics to use, but technically its still not complex enough to require a physics card. If its optimized properly, a dual core or even probably a single core cpu could handle it comfortably.