1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Win 7 Arrives 21st

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by mick4545, 16 Oct 2009.

  1. bam0

    Soldato

    Joined: 28 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,014

    Got mine and installed it last night. I thought we were supposed to get some pop up screen once installed asking us to pick a web browser, something to do with the EU?
     
  2. r4yne

    Associate

    Joined: 19 Oct 2009

    Posts: 31

    Location: Rochdale, Lancashire

    Mine is en route from OCUK

    DPD
    22 Oct 2009 01:47 Manchester Confirmed at depot
     
  3. pumaz

    Soldato

    Joined: 7 Oct 2003

    Posts: 5,659

    Location: Nottingham

    Got my first 3 copies about 7.30am this morning (courier) Just waiting on another 3 but they're arriving individually by the royal fail :( so god knows when i'll see them.

    Just installing my first copy on my Macbook as i type (no work for me today) Brings a smile to my face installing a legit Windows :)
     
  4. MeatLoaf

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Dec 2005

    Posts: 14,269

    Location: Stoke on Trent

    Mine too is confirmed at the depot :D
     
  5. r4yne

    Associate

    Joined: 19 Oct 2009

    Posts: 31

    Location: Rochdale, Lancashire

    Yay

    22 Oct 2009 08:39 Manchester On vehicle for delivery
     
  6. MorgothPl

    Associate

    Joined: 15 Sep 2009

    Posts: 28

    One night transfer from UK to Poland, already at delivery station in Warsaw.... now just few hours and I'll get it at work :) I'm really impressed witht he delivery time though... half of Europe in one day :)
     
  7. apatia77

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Mar 2005

    Posts: 4,749

    Received 2 from 4 ordered copies so far, rest should arrive next week due to RM strike today and tomorrow :(
     
  8. KPeh

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,852

    Location: UK

    Still at the depot, should've slept in :-/.
     
  9. MoBo

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 Oct 2002

    Posts: 780

    Location: Norwich

    mines turned up! - ill install it tonight

    which should i install 32 or 64 bit?
     
  10. matthewhotdude

    Mobster

    Joined: 11 Sep 2008

    Posts: 2,601

    I can't decide which one to install
     
  11. Woody...!!!

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,231

    Location: Stoke on Trent

    When did yours arrive??
     
  12. Snax

    Mobster

    Joined: 5 Jul 2003

    Posts: 4,239

    Location: Larndarn

    I am really impressed, I have come from a p4 3.5ghz with 2gb of RAM running xp to this and everthing is still slick and nice.

    Well done microsoft. The install too 5 mins and I was away.
     
  13. ash-306

    Associate

    Joined: 21 Oct 2009

    Posts: 16

    Location: Ludlow, Shropshire

    Got my copy of Windows 7 Ultimate x64 a few weeks ago. I love it! Very recommended!
     
  14. matthewhotdude

    Mobster

    Joined: 11 Sep 2008

    Posts: 2,601

    It hasnt yet
     
  15. nikebee

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2004

    Posts: 14,003

    Location: Pembrokeshire

    The prices we're seeing now should remain until 1st Jan before it goes back to it's full pricing. It's nothing to do with the release date.

    No linking to competitors mate, whether they're more expensive or not.

    One of my copies (from the place you linked to) arrived today... I'm still waiting on my second copy though.
     
  16. chaparral

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Nov 2005

    Posts: 22,656

    Location: Guernsey

    64bit.....(Think the 32bit has a 4GB ram limit !!)
     
  17. Marco_Nasty

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Nov 2008

    Posts: 102

    Mine has been dispatched yesterday by ROYAL MAIL!!!!! It better arrive today or there will be trouble!
     
  18. Uther

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Jun 2005

    Posts: 15,106

    My 2 copies just turned up via HDNL! :D
     
  19. Lum

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Nov 2008

    Posts: 3,283

    Location: South Wales

    32 bit has a limitation where the total amount of RAM in your system (including graphics card memory and any devices you have that use memory mapped IO) cannot exceed 4GB, it will subtract from your system RAM if you exceed 4GB.

    For most folk these days, 3GB RAM is the effective limit on a 32bit system.

    OTOH, on a 32bit system, you get the 16bit subsystem allowing you to run ancient Windows 3.1 applications, this has been removed from 64bit Windows (but is still available under XP Mode on Win7 Pro+Ultimate). Also, if you have older or more obscure hardware it's more likely to work since some vendors still haven't produced 64bit drivers yet and in some cases the XP driver can work. You can also run unsigned drivers which may be useful if you're into rolling your own driver mods. This could however be considered a disadvantage because malware could install itself as a driver, something that isn't possible with the driver requirements of 64bit Windows.

    32bit Windows also needs less RAM to function, so if you have a pathetic 1GB of RAM, go 32bit.

    99% of hardware is working just fine on 64bit these days, so really it's down to which is more important, the 16bit subsystem or the ability to have more than 3GB RAM plus the added security of signed drivers.
     
  20. lcg

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Apr 2009

    Posts: 1,977

    Location: London

    Two copies arrived a minute ago :D I have all three I ordered now.