1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Win 7 Arrives 21st

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by mick4545, 16 Oct 2009.

  1. mrk

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 87,378

    Location: South Coast

    Yeah my mate used Easy Transfer, useful feature indeed but for the likes of me it's pretty useless as we have a drive dedicated to user documents etc :p

    I just create a "System Image" using Windows Backup and Restore so if my Windows drive dies or Windows jeffs up then I just do a VHD image restore using the restore CD I created to load the image off the external backup and BOOM! my whole Windows drive is back to how it was :p

    Think my next external drive is going to be eSATA though as USB 2 takes a bit to xfer 100GB over :p
     
  2. db2431

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Dec 2006

    Posts: 373

    Even on 2gb of ram its faster than xp.
     
  3. clv101

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 10,718

    Location: Bristol

    Quick random question - if I swap a graphics card in a system with OEM Vista installed, will it need activating? If it does, will it still work fine without being activated for a while?
     
  4. Mikey

    Soldato

    Joined: 28 Dec 2002

    Posts: 5,965

    Location: South Coast

    Installing it on my mother's PC tomorrow night in exchange for some dinner etc :)

    Question is whether to go 32bit or 64bit. It's an early Intel x64 chip with 2GB RAM - Dell 3100C

    Perfect for what my Mother uses it for, but what arcitecture..

    Clean install from Windows XP Home. Only applications I'm aware of at the mo are:
    MS Office
    Family Tree
     
  5. kidloco

    Mobster

    Joined: 3 Nov 2003

    Posts: 4,930

    Location: Lancashire


    Try it with the 64bit, it wont let you install it if your system is 64bit
     
  6. Mikey

    Soldato

    Joined: 28 Dec 2002

    Posts: 5,965

    Location: South Coast

    Think that's what I'm going to be doing. Got both 32 and 64 bit running on an ESX server at work, haven't noticed much difference.
     
  7. fulcrumer

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 371

    Where mine then!!!
     
  8. Slyman2k4

    Hitman

    Joined: 31 Dec 2005

    Posts: 734

    Location: N.I

    Anyone done a custom/unattended install yet? Going to get round to installing mine tomorrow, but i'll want to move programs to d, userfiles to e and temp to f, first. Was hoping someone else has done it without problems yet.
     
  9. Fenris

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 3 Feb 2009

    Posts: 8,693

    Location: Brighton, UK.

    Got mine today and I sit here typing in it :D

    Have to say I am seriously impressed. All the new little features, once you get used to them, make so much sense, plus all the Vista stuff that was annoying now works perfectly. So glad I upgraded.

    Install took less than 10 minutes on my Corsair 64Gb SSD.

    Also Fallout 3 has decided to work again YAAAAAAY!
     
  10. hegemon

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Aug 2008

    Posts: 1,086

    You'll be fine, a change of graphics card won't trigger reactivation.
     
  11. Kesz

    Hitman

    Joined: 24 Feb 2009

    Posts: 528

    Got mine yesterday. Installed it last night, it did take a while to install, mainly sitting at Setup Screens.. I'm still very new to this so I might have done it wrong, but I installed mine by telling the bios to use CD drive first and then boot from cd. As far as I know, I did a clean install but Windows keept my old files, which were about 600gig, I didn't actually want to keep them(took ages to delete).

    I have to say that my boot times are longer than Vista, it may very well be that I've installed it wrong. I'd like to know if I have and how to do a complete clean install with out keeping my old files, if possible?
     
  12. dmsims

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2003

    Posts: 1,044

    Well I really like it. I avoided Vista like the plague but 7 seems intuitive to me and much snappier - VWD struggled on XP

    As a bonus the XP drivers for my RAID card work well (Promise S150 TX2plus)

    It was also possible to run NTbackup from a USB flash disk to restore some files.
     
  13. braveheart

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Jan 2007

    Posts: 1,118

    Location: Scotland

    Im about to get my 2 copues of W7 HP today as delivery is on the way shortly - I will find out when I install in my own PC later today.
     
  14. apatia77

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Mar 2005

    Posts: 4,749

    Got my 3 copies out of 4 so far (all from different places). 1 more to be delivered.
     
  15. mrk

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 87,378

    Location: South Coast

    Sounds like you didn't format the drive during install and as such the 600gb of stuff left over fragmented the drive?

    Defrag and reboot a few times, boot times will improve over each reboot by small amounts and superfetch will learn with use.

    If all else fails, re-install but this time format :)


    Also yay! another copy on the way from MS though....a bit late in dispatching but oh well.

     
    Last edited: 23 Oct 2009
  16. Marco_Nasty

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Nov 2008

    Posts: 102

    Yeah!! Got my copy last nite and it is working like a dream :D
     
  17. Bonjour

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 30 Mar 2004

    Posts: 9,693

    Location: London

    Laptop's now triple booted - MacOS, Ubuntu and 7.

    Happy lappy.
     
  18. buy_my_cookies

    Hitman

    Joined: 29 Apr 2007

    Posts: 503

    got my copy yesterday but i took so long backing up all my crap and organising my files that i never got round to installing it :)

    But on the plus side my corsair hx750w should turn up today so i get 2 new things to play with tonight. another lonely night for my poor gf!

    does this add anything new to the rc or just the same?
     
  19. DeathTyrant

    Gangster

    Joined: 28 Nov 2008

    Posts: 351

    All sorted now. :D

    Thanks to the guys at OcUK (I was the one who rang up a couple of times asking about Win 7 Ultimate x64 shipments) I was able to get ahold of an OEM Windows 7 Ultimate x64 to go with my order, and get it amended to have Saturday delivery. Bloke turned up this morning with my goodies.

    So, all is well, and I can start on my new install!

    Cheers guys!