1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Win 7 setup - should I get an SSD HDD

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Mel_P, 5 Oct 2009.

  1. Mel_P

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Feb 2004

    Posts: 2,217

    Location: Kent

    Last edited: 5 Oct 2009
  2. Mel_P

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Feb 2004

    Posts: 2,217

    Location: Kent

  3. PiKe

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,983

    Location: Lake District

    Crucial ones are 114 quid and are Ok for what you want to use it for.
     
  4. Spit

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 8 Nov 2003

    Posts: 6,743

    Location: Yorkshire

    I have the 4ghz i7 mate and have the 128Gb Crucial and a WD 1TB drive for storage.

    go for it, they rock, everything loads instantly its amazing.

    You will be letting your i7 down if you dont.
     
  5. bledd

    Don

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 46,756

    Location: Parts Unknown

    going to get a 128gb crucial myself
     
  6. Mel_P

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Feb 2004

    Posts: 2,217

    Location: Kent

    Hurry up and get them in stock then! Crucial have them BUT £142 + post +VAT!!!!!!!

    Mel P
     
    Last edited: 5 Oct 2009
  7. bledd

    Don

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 46,756

    Location: Parts Unknown

    pre-orders often ship out as soon as they come in, so the site may say 'pre-order' for a while, whilst they will be getting stock in, and sending straight out to the pre orders
     
  8. UKDTweak

    Soldato

    Joined: 2 Dec 2002

    Posts: 6,592

    Location: N.Ireland

    For Windows 7 you need at least a 64gb SSD, 32gb will Not be enough.
    I have it installed on my 64gb Falcon, with office 2007 and a few other apps and a 6gb page file, I have only 26gb of free space left!
     
  9. reflux

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Nov 2007

    Posts: 12,836

    Location: Enfield

    Yeah, you want 64gb really. I have Windows and all my apps barring games installed on my 64gb drive and I have 21.5gb free. That's with the page file on a seperate drive and hibernation turned off!
     
  10. Mel_P

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Feb 2004

    Posts: 2,217

    Location: Kent

    Perhaps it's the 128GB and no pocket money till Christmas then!?
     
  11. Mel_P

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Feb 2004

    Posts: 2,217

    Location: Kent

    I cannot decide which to "preorder" for my Win 7 install.

    64 GB (and regret it later)
    128 GB (and bite the bullet!)

    Any views please?
     
  12. Audigex

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 Feb 2009

    Posts: 2,238

    Bite the bullet.

    32gb will do, if you keep apps to an absolute minimum, but I don't see the point in using an SSD for the OS only. 64gb should do most people, unless you have a lot of games or large apps after 2 years of use my vista partition took up 70gb, and although it's fairly bloated and win7 is better, I'd still want 128 to have a "install it and leave it" situation.
     
  13. Richy1204

    Hitman

    Joined: 29 Jun 2009

    Posts: 708

    Location: West Sussex

    Bite the bullet if you have the cash :)
     
  14. linktoinsanity

    Underboss

    Joined: 5 Oct 2008

    Posts: 8,831

    Location: Kent

    I am on a 128GB Corsair SSD for Windows myself and it flies. I highly recommend getting an SSD for Windows 7. :)
     
  15. bledd

    Don

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 46,756

    Location: Parts Unknown

    Mel_P, the 128gb is faster than the 64gb model, the read/write speeds are better in the 128 :)
     
  16. Mel_P

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Feb 2004

    Posts: 2,217

    Location: Kent

    OK - I am persuaded - will pre-order 128GB. No pocket money for months!

    (PS - just stopped using my PIII as a windows home server - this came with a 10 GB HDD for EVERYTHING!!)

    Thanks all.

    Mel
     
  17. Mattus

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Sep 2003

    Posts: 10,912

    Location: London

    If you're just using the SSD for Windows, I'd say 64GB would be enough. My Vista has been installed for about a year and is 30GB including pagefile - 7 will be a bit less. You just have to be careful about where you install programs - I barely have any apps installed to the system partition.

    If you want your commonly-used programs on the SSD as well, 128GB might be better, especially if you have a big pagefile and a hibernation file.
     
  18. Stelly

    Don

    Joined: 5 Oct 2005

    Posts: 11,016

    Location: Liverpool

    alot of things I have read tell you to switch off the pagefile, what do you guys think??

    Stelly
     
  19. bledd

    Don

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 46,756

    Location: Parts Unknown

    they say you should move it to a normal hard drive, not disable it, that's the best idea
     
  20. jas72

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Jul 2006

    Posts: 10,263

    Location: Belgium land of chocolate

    how much faster we talking about considering they are 8X more expensive than normal drives.