1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Win7 to new laptop

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by shadow_boxer, 25 Jun 2010.

  1. shadow_boxer

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 9 Oct 2009

    Posts: 8,866

    Location: Stoke-On-Trent

    Hi guys heres my question...

    I've got a custom built desktop running Win7 home premium 64bit but have just brought a laptop (Asus UL30A), it came with recovery discs and a recovery partition, what I want to know is if I want to reinstall of Win7 could I use the original disc (the one from the desktop) and enter the product key (also for Win7 home premium 64bit) from the laptop (on a sticker on the bottom)? would this allow me to do a clean install of Win7 onto the the same hard drive with all the bloatware?

    Thanks

    Dumb*ss...WITHOUT the bloatware...now what would be the point of a clean installation!
     
  2. anything I don't mind

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 28 Dec 2009

    Posts: 13,054

    Location: london

    if they are both the same version you should be able to install windows 7 on the laptop with the disc from your other pc. But you might find the laptop is OEM and the desktop pc is RETAIL, other than that i don't see any problems.

    You won't know until you try to put the cdkey in the laptop during install and then if it doesn't work you can just install with the cd that came with the laptop.
     
  3. True_Scotsman

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Jul 2004

    Posts: 1,827

    Location: Glasgow/The Netherlands

    If both versions are OEM then it wont be a problem, but if one is retail (most likely the pc version is) then no, you cant use OEM for a retail install and vice versa.
     
  4. Six6siX

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Nov 2004

    Posts: 4,789

    Location: Hertfordshire

    is there actually a distinction between oem and retail media with vista/win 7? I was under the impression that it was generic media in that respect and the version installed was determined by the key used?

    (I am aware of the config file that pre-selects what version is installed basic/premium/ultimate etc but i dont think that is related to oem/retail arguement is it?)
     
  5. marmalade

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,809

    Location: Victoria OZ /Germany/UK

    All puters that come with Windows 7 pre installed have a SLIC 2.1 in the OS this must match the SLIC 2.1 in the bios
     
  6. anything I don't mind

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 28 Dec 2009

    Posts: 13,054

    Location: london

    I have never heard of this ? Does that mean that he can't use the other CD ?
     
  7. shadow_boxer

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 9 Oct 2009

    Posts: 8,866

    Location: Stoke-On-Trent

    Thanks guys, yeah the the desktop Windows is OEM. Think I might just try it....might hold on to get an SSD, pop it into the laptop and enter the CD key...fingers crossed.

    If theres no luck will pop it into the desktop I guess.

    Never heard of SLIC 2.1 can anyone clarify what this is?
     
  8. Six6siX

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Nov 2004

    Posts: 4,789

    Location: Hertfordshire

    My understanding of SLIC is that it is only used for offline OEM activation only. Its a method of activation used by large OEMs for pre-installed OS's on pre-built PC's.

    It looks for a section of the BIOS (SLIC compatible) to verify the OEM information and if correct, installs appropiate royalty keys and Windows files to automatically activate the OS without the need for internet/phone activation or entering a product key.

    This would be how the recovery disks work, so if you want to use your generic windows disk, you will need to enter the key and activate over the phone/internet as you would normally.