1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows 10

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Glaucus, 30 Sep 2014.

  1. Tephnos

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 May 2011

    Posts: 4,822

    Location: Aberdeen, Scotland

    Clean install (after upgrade install) says my insider key is blocked.

    Omg. :(
     
  2. mcdermotx

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 May 2005

    Posts: 416

    As long as your current install is in proper shape, then running the ISO to do the upgrade will result in a properly activated Windows 10

    Even if you have the preload files, when you run the setup of the ISO it deletes that directory and reconstructs it once the install kicks off.
     
  3. Frenzy

    Soldato

    Joined: 11 Sep 2009

    Posts: 5,284

    Location: Limbo

    Same...
     
  4. smr

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Mar 2008

    Posts: 8,575

    Location: Leicestershire

    Woah I'm leaving this well alone then until they iron these problems out, it's always going to bring up issues on release day tbh.
     
  5. ScoTTyBEEE

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 1 Jun 2004

    Posts: 2,018

    Location: London

    ^^^^ Same question.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Glaucus

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 11 Mar 2004

    Posts: 76,643

    It's ok, your pc is still usable, it's not going to explode. All which happens is a couple if times a day ifpt pops up going activate. Click on it, opens up control panel and then you close control panel and carry on.
    Wait a few days for the servers to stop getting hammered in for Ms to resolve some issues.
     
  7. Spikey

    Soldato

    Joined: 28 Feb 2004

    Posts: 5,509

    Location: North East, UK

    How do I create a recovery CD now I've upgraded in case I want to do a clean install? Gone from windows 8. Thanks :)
     
  8. robj20

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Apr 2007

    Posts: 10,401

    Looks like im going to have to re-install Windows 7.
     
  9. smr

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Mar 2008

    Posts: 8,575

    Location: Leicestershire

    Control Panel > Recovery

    I'd have thought.
     
  10. Simon Belmont

    Soldato

    Joined: 11 Mar 2013

    Posts: 5,285

    Why is everyone freaking out? Just like mrbios said wait for the proper release for your PC. No need to force a update??? I'm in no hurry. I never install a brand new OS on release day...ARE YOU CRAZY!:p:D
     
  11. Adam

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 8,984

    Couldn't have been easier after I used the Windows 10 tool linked to earlier in the thread, really impressed with how smooth the upgrade was.

    Although it didn't detect my ethernet drivers which I presume is because I avoided using the Killer NIC drivers previously.
     
  12. Dicehunter

    Capodecina

    Joined: 19 Feb 2007

    Posts: 11,461

    Location: Milkyway Galaxy

    Tried to open a picture, the window flashed and closed again, Seems windows photo viewer is a little bit s***.
     
  13. Tephnos

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 May 2011

    Posts: 4,822

    Location: Aberdeen, Scotland

    Windows 7 day one was absolutely fine!
     
  14. smr

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Mar 2008

    Posts: 8,575

    Location: Leicestershire

    Some people are impatient :p
     
  15. Danny091

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Dec 2010

    Posts: 1,663

    Location: North Wales

    Check the error details

     
  16. Simon Belmont

    Soldato

    Joined: 11 Mar 2013

    Posts: 5,285

    Yup, but windows 10 on the other hand:eek::rolleyes:
     
  17. Glaucus

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 11 Mar 2004

    Posts: 76,643

    It's been working fine.
     
  18. slick rick

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Dec 2013

    Posts: 2,589

    Tried on my old rig, got to 24% stayed there for ages and failed, restored back to 8.1 for now.

    Tried on my main rig, updated to 10 pretty quickly with no issues, activated and from what I can tell so far everything is still intact and working! :)
     
  19. smr

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Mar 2008

    Posts: 8,575

    Location: Leicestershire

    I think the problem sounds like network traffic, and tbf if there are going to be licensing problems where you need to get through to people, or download issues / installation issues they're going to be a headache on day 1 compared to say day 7 or 14 after release.
     
  20. leedrummond

    Gangster

    Joined: 19 May 2006

    Posts: 204

    5.96Gb been like that since yesterday, had my pc on for hours now.

    if i click setup - install

    i get error message saying missing boot.wim.

    Where do i go from here ?