1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

windows 7 32bit..4gig ram..2.75 usable?

Discussion in 'Memory' started by Chrisavz, 8 Apr 2010.

  1. Chrisavz

    Associate

    Joined: 1 May 2008

    Posts: 96

    ok i understand that it cannot address the full thing but why is it only showing 2.75 gb available?

    ive updated to latest bios also for my board asus maximus formula 1403 bios version..so why?

    one of the dimms would not work in slot4 kept crashing..so i swaped the dimms round and now windows boots and shows 4gb, if thats got anything to do with it :S
     
  2. Broken Hope

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 16 Jan 2003

    Posts: 9,284

    Location: Nottingham

    Make sure memory remap is enabled, forgot where it is on that board, been a while since I used one. I used to get around 3.25GB available.
     
  3. MagicBoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 17,641

    Location: South Manchester

    How much RAM on the video card?
     
  4. Chrisavz

    Associate

    Joined: 1 May 2008

    Posts: 96

    its a 1gb 9800gx2
     
  5. PhillyDee

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Feb 2007

    Posts: 14,169

    Location: South Shields

    Theres your problem.

    4gb - 1gb is 3gb, minus *some more memory* including ram on the board, bios memory, etc. etc. sounds about right.

    Why aren;t you using 64-bit now?
     
  6. Chrisavz

    Associate

    Joined: 1 May 2008

    Posts: 96

    I'm waiting for my mate to get me the 64 bit disk so this will soon be sorted, thanks :)
     
  7. Broken Hope

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 16 Jan 2003

    Posts: 9,284

    Location: Nottingham

    The entire video RAM isn't mapped like you think it is, I had the same amount of memory available in 32 bit XP with both a 512MB and a 1GB Video card.
     
  8. Corasik

    Soldato

    Joined: 5 Jan 2003

    Posts: 5,002

    Location: West Midlands

    Correct, the CPU/OS dont have direct access to the GPU ram, they have access to a window, and the GPU is responsible for where the data is stored.

    There's probably a frame buffer for direct access for 2D functions, but alot of the GPU memory is used for texture storeage, and other functions that the CPU simply dont need access to.
     
  9. Yellowbeard

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 2 Nov 2006

    Posts: 1,386

    Part of the reserved MMIO block is going to be reserved regardless of the GPU memory amount. 32bit OSs are automatically reserving a 1GB block minimum on most current MOBOs. So, in those cases, you'll see 3GB max of the system memory.