1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows 7 arrived yesterday, should I install 32 or 64bit?

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Sunbed, 20 Oct 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sunbed

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Mar 2007

    Posts: 4,070

    Location: Manchester

    Will 64bit OS allow me to use my full 4 gig of RAM? On XP 32 I'm using 3.25 gig or something.

    On another topic; how do I 'uninstall' windows 7. I have the retail which only allows 1 install at a time. How does the OS know it is only installed on one PC. If I do a hardware upgrade, how do I deal with this?
     
  2. nemodog

    Associate

    Joined: 1 Nov 2008

    Posts: 14

    yea same here gettin win 7 don t know which version to install
     
  3. photoshop

    Soldato

    Joined: 7 Nov 2006

    Posts: 5,573

    64bit is the future so do it!
     
  4. True_Scotsman

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Jul 2004

    Posts: 1,827

    Location: Glasgow/The Netherlands

    Install the 64bit version, will see your 4gb RAM no problems.
     
  5. MeatLoaf

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Dec 2005

    Posts: 14,272

    Location: Stoke on Trent

    As you have 4Gb of RAM id install 64bit :)
     
  6. avatar12m

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Aug 2006

    Posts: 938

    Location: Elloughton, UK

    i got mine monday it took 15 mins to format and it be ready to use 15 more mins to downloads all the updates 55mb worth and its been amazing ever since so fast .

    aparently msoft gave go ahead to ship early due to posty strike.

    put the 64bit version on !
     
  7. Sunbed

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Mar 2007

    Posts: 4,070

    Location: Manchester

    So I wouldn't see full 4 gig with 32bit version?
     
  8. El_Watcher

    Mobster

    Joined: 1 Apr 2004

    Posts: 2,978

    Location: Herts, UK

    No real reason not to install 64-bit really, unless you have a piece of hardware/software which definitely doesn't support 64-bit.
     
  9. True_Scotsman

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 29 Jul 2004

    Posts: 1,827

    Location: Glasgow/The Netherlands

    No, it will show the same as your XP 32bit
     
  10. demon8991

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Jan 2003

    Posts: 4,418

    Location: Gold Coast, Australia

    64bit without a shadow of a doubt.

    32bit is old news now.
     
  11. ShakenNstirred

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 5 Jun 2003

    Posts: 8,854

    Location: sawley/ long eaton

    been using 64bit since march 07, there really isn't a need to run 32bit unless there is a must have piece of hardware n software
     
  12. Sunbed

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Mar 2007

    Posts: 4,070

    Location: Manchester

    Ok well thats 1st bit solved.

    Anyone got any idea about 2nd part? Not have retail OS before, only OEM
     
  13. Simian

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 19 Oct 2002

    Posts: 8,117

    Location: Swindoniantown

    When you Activate MS know its been done... if you then install on another machine and activate MS will know that too!, they won't like it but other than breaking the Licencing laws you 'might' get away with it (not recommended though!!!)... they might get arsey about it if you install on 10 machines and come after you!!...
     
  14. Brian Stuart

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 23 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,203

    Location: N Ireland

    You can upgrade your motherboard and change PC with a retail version and the only limitation is it can only be installed on one PC at a time.
     
  15. Sunbed

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Mar 2007

    Posts: 4,070

    Location: Manchester

    Yes and how do they know when it's installed on one PC at a time?
     
  16. PiKe

    Caporegime

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 25,149

    Location: Lake District

    Hardware hash that's tied to the product key.
     
  17. mdjmcnally

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 May 2004

    Posts: 1,598

    Also would see hitting Windows Update with the same key multiple times.
     
  18. Burnsy2023

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 17 Nov 2003

    Posts: 36,636

    Location: Southampton, UK

    There are loads of threads on this. Please search in future :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.