1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows 7 Startup Loop

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Kaiju, 12 Apr 2010.

  1. Kaiju

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Jan 2005

    Posts: 3,638

    Location: Expat in HK

    I had a BSOD and now I can't get past the startup repair. It's worth noting i've had Windows 7 32-bit Ultimate running fine since it's retail release with no hiccups.

    I've tried safe mode, repairing from the Windows 7 disk. I've put the drive in an external drive and everything still seems there. I've tried bootrec /fixmbr and /fixboot.

    Any ideas on how to save my programs and settings before I reformat.
     
  2. Kaiju

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Jan 2005

    Posts: 3,638

    Location: Expat in HK

    Was able to get into my C: properties via the system restore, advanced tab. Now running chkdsk to see if that can do anything.
     
  3. Destination

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 May 2009

    Posts: 20,563

    Let us know how it goes.
    What sort of BSOD did windows7 have? They tend to be quite unusual.
     
  4. Kaiju

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Jan 2005

    Posts: 3,638

    Location: Expat in HK

    chkdsk finished with no problems.

    Unfortunately I didn't take note of the BSOD.

    This is annoying the hell outta me. All the files are there on the C: drive, no faults, no errors.

    Yet I can't get to the desktop because Windows insists I have a startup problem. WTF!

    I don't think a backup image will do any good as it will probably bring about the same darn problem.
     
  5. Kaiju

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Jan 2005

    Posts: 3,638

    Location: Expat in HK

    Found this...

    "The trouble is the Startup repair tool was written by a high school idiot. Instead of running and coming up without a recovery and stopping, it loops. How dumb is that? so the user flounders.

    In the end in EACH case, the only solution for repair that I can find is flat reinstall. Wipe out and loose all."

    LOL, typical.
     
  6. Kaiju

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Jan 2005

    Posts: 3,638

    Location: Expat in HK

    Come to think of it Windows 7 did an update for IE (I don't even use the fully star out swearies thing!), but I just updated it anyway. The BSOD happened before I could restart and verify the update was successfully installed. That's the ONLY thing I can think of that might of caused this.
     
  7. alex24

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Jan 2008

    Posts: 10,847

    I just had this exact same problem on my HTPC- Win 7 64-bit. I say had, it's still ongoing. Tried everything you mentioned and system restore, now testing the HDD but I think it'll pass. Startup repair found a corrupt file first time, now it finds no problems, but still insists on running at every boot. I can't get into windows, not even safe mode!

    Maybe it was a dodgy update.
     
  8. Kaiju

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Jan 2005

    Posts: 3,638

    Location: Expat in HK

  9. Kaiju

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Jan 2005

    Posts: 3,638

    Location: Expat in HK

    Now trying a Windows 7 upgrade from the CD. Apparently this should keep everything intact.

    edit: Tried to upgrade, but it just told me I need to take the disc out, restart the computer and try it once Windows has started.

    Perfect, thank you M$ for this piece of turd.
     
    Last edited: 12 Apr 2010
  10. Raumarik

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Jul 2003

    Posts: 13,786

    I had the same problem after letting Windows 7 install it's own recommended (via automatic updates) Nvidia driver. I'd always used the Windows 7 Nvidia driver up to that point. BSOD after reboot, I ended up restoring from backup with the Windows 7 DVD. Oddly the next time I ran the update it worked flawlessly and has for 2 months now.
     
  11. alex24

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Jan 2008

    Posts: 10,847

    Yeah my problem is almost identical, I think it's most likely the same thing.

    I did try running sfc /scannow but got the same problem reported in the link. Can you just copy sfc.exe and run it off a bootable ms-dos disk or similar? If I could run sfc somehow it might save reinstalling.

    Will an upgrade screw up the installed programs w.r.t settings and registry or not?
     
  12. Kaiju

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Jan 2005

    Posts: 3,638

    Location: Expat in HK

    Repair Install Walkthrough

    Seems to do the trick, if you can get far enough through the installation process.

    Sigh.
     
  13. alex24

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Jan 2008

    Posts: 10,847

    Looks like it'll be ok I guess. Only problem is, it says you must be logged onto windows to start a repair install...slight issue as I can't get into ******* windows!

    The windows 7 boot disc does give an option to upgrade, but since the guide specifically states be logged on, I'm wondering if it's actually the same thing.
     
  14. Kaiju

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Jan 2005

    Posts: 3,638

    Location: Expat in HK

    Oh, lightbulb.

    I just ran bcdedit /set {default} recoveryenabled No

    Restarted and it came to the black screen stating the file idoxvtc.sys is corrupt or missing in the System32, drivers directory.

    Will take out the OS drive, stick it in an external USB caddy and manually replace the file again. See if that works.
     
  15. Kaiju

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Jan 2005

    Posts: 3,638

    Location: Expat in HK

    Hmm, can't find the file on my laptop or the Internet.

    Anyone?
     
  16. alex24

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Jan 2008

    Posts: 10,847

    bcedit will stop the loop, but if you have a problem like me (think theres a corrupt file somewhere) it won't help you boot. I don't want to remove my hard disk as it's a royal pain in the HTPC case to get out.

    I just realised I might not have tried sfc /scannow from the windows 7 disc recovery console. Might be worth a shot.
     
  17. Kaiju

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Jan 2005

    Posts: 3,638

    Location: Expat in HK

  18. alex24

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Jan 2008

    Posts: 10,847

    Guide is for XP. I'll see if there's a Vista/7 version.
     
  19. Kaiju

    Mobster

    Joined: 27 Jan 2005

    Posts: 3,638

    Location: Expat in HK

    I'm using 7-zip to extract the file from install.wim on the Windows 7 directory.

    Wish me luck!
     
  20. alex24

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Jan 2008

    Posts: 10,847

    Hope it works out for you.

    Mine is missing ntoskrnl.exe...oops! What a pain.