1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows 7 upgrade

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by hellarda, 22 Oct 2009.

  1. hellarda

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 4 Mar 2008

    Posts: 2,439

    Location: Guildford

    hi,

    I have Vista home premium 32-bit, but i want to upgrade to windows 7 64-bit i know you cant upgrade 32-bit to 64-bit, but do i have to buy the full version of windows 7? or can i buy the upgrade?

    cheers

    ali
     
  2. hellarda

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 4 Mar 2008

    Posts: 2,439

    Location: Guildford

    anyone? please
     
  3. MeatLoaf

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Dec 2005

    Posts: 14,211

    Location: Stoke on Trent

    Just get the Home Prmium thats £66.99 at the moment, it has both 32 and 64 bit in the box
     
  4. hellarda

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 4 Mar 2008

    Posts: 2,439

    Location: Guildford

    but theres no point me buying the full version if i can get the upgrade?
     
  5. hellarda

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 4 Mar 2008

    Posts: 2,439

    Location: Guildford

    and i sorta want ultimate
     
  6. keogh

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Jun 2004

    Posts: 2,761

    Location: Bangkok, Thailand (formally London)

    You can't buy upgrades of Windows 7 in Europe, so MS reduced the price of the full version to take this in to account. I think the prices go back up at the end of the year, so I would buy now.
     
  7. hellarda

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 4 Mar 2008

    Posts: 2,439

    Location: Guildford

    yer you can, all i want to know is if you have a legitimate copy of vista 32-bit you can use the license to upgrade to windows 7 64 bit sorry if i didnt make this clear earlier
     
  8. keogh

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Jun 2004

    Posts: 2,761

    Location: Bangkok, Thailand (formally London)

    My bad, I tihnk MS changed their mind on the upgrade option in Europe kinda recently... never noticed as I have no interest in an upgrade version.

    I can't answer your question either, sorry!
     
  9. hellarda

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 4 Mar 2008

    Posts: 2,439

    Location: Guildford

    ok thanks anyway, anyone else?
     
  10. Skeeter

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Mar 2007

    Posts: 37,147

    Location: Surrey

    You can buy the upgrade.

    Read the Students = Cheap Windows 7 thread, as the Student version is an upgrade, that thread is full of people with upgrades.
     
  11. keogh

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Jun 2004

    Posts: 2,761

    Location: Bangkok, Thailand (formally London)

    Yeah I know, I realised that after I posted, MS obviously changed their minds on the upgrade option for Europe... last time I looked you couldn't upgrade in Europe, but that was a long time a go.

    Last time I looked IE wasn't coming with W7 either, not sure if that is still the case?
     
  12. hellarda

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 4 Mar 2008

    Posts: 2,439

    Location: Guildford

    so i can do a clean install with the upgrade version and just enter my vista product key?
     
  13. varkanoid

    Capodecina

    Joined: 31 Dec 2007

    Posts: 10,870

    Location: The TARDIS, Wakefield, UK

    No you cant cheat like that. If you want to go from Vista 32 bit or 64 bit you will need to purchase Windows 7. The Home Premium version on O/C UK is very well priced.

    You can not use your Vista key ! ;)

    I was quite surprised with my Windows 7 as originally they said you could not upgrade and I was a bit shocked to see the upgrade option as well as install option. I intended to do a clean install anyway to wipe all trace of vista from my PC.

    oh quick tip I found, turn off Windows search in services. Windows 7 is super duper faster without it to boot !
     
  14. hellarda

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 4 Mar 2008

    Posts: 2,439

    Location: Guildford

    ok, so can i get micrsoft to send me a 64 bit version of vista, apparently they will, and then install that on a partition, and then install win7 upgrade? cheers
     
  15. tripitaka

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Nov 2005

    Posts: 841

    Location: London

    You can install an upgrade version if you want.
    You will not need to have a 64 bit version of Vista.
    In order to upgrade from 32bit Vista to 64bit Windows 7 using an upgrade version, you will need to run Windows 7 setup from within your (activated) Vista install, then perform a clean (full) installation (you will not be able to do an in-place upgrade).
     
  16. hellarda

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 4 Mar 2008

    Posts: 2,439

    Location: Guildford

    ok cheers, sounds good, will i be able to keep all my files on that partition? or will i have to format it? thanks again
     
  17. _Jimlad_

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jun 2005

    Posts: 19,510

    Location: Southampton

    software for students are doing win7 ultimate for £65 or something (upgrade version)
     
  18. tripitaka

    Hitman

    Joined: 8 Nov 2005

    Posts: 841

    Location: London

    AFAIK, it will put all of your old files in a folder called WINODWS.OLD on the partition it installs on.
    I'd back up important stuff first though, just in case!
     
  19. hellarda

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 4 Mar 2008

    Posts: 2,439

    Location: Guildford

    jimlad - thats exactly why i wanted to do upgrade :)

    tripitaka, ok thanks
     
  20. robinbredin

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 8 Jan 2009

    Posts: 1,504

    Location: Northern Ireland

    That sounds good,