1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows 7 won't boot...without my old hard drive

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Citizen, 10 Apr 2010.

  1. Citizen

    Gangster

    Joined: 11 Apr 2008

    Posts: 130

    Hi there,
    I've recently installed windows 7 onto a new hard disk ( i still have my old hard disk with xp just in case anything went wrong).....however i tried setting my new hard disk ( with win7) as the boot priority........but it won't boot. It does if i set the old disk ( with xp) as priority as it gives me a choice of which OS to boot

    Why is this?

    Cheers

    c
     
  2. Citizen

    Gangster

    Joined: 11 Apr 2008

    Posts: 130

    It's ok got it sorted. Went to the windows7forums.....very helpful people.
     
  3. Raumarik

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Jul 2003

    Posts: 13,786

    Post the fix please mate, will help anyone searching on here later on and you get guaranteed karma for doing so :)
     
  4. Citizen

    Gangster

    Joined: 11 Apr 2008

    Posts: 130

    Hi Halfmad,
    Well it's not really a resolution as such ( as i've not yet tried it myself)...but here's the sequence:


    "D/l bootsect.zip

    Extract the .zip and copy bootsect.exe into your C:\windows\System32 folder.

    Open an elevated command ( type cmd in start search box - when the black box pops up - rt click it and run as admin.)

    Type the following , and press enter after each line:

    bcdboot c:\windows /s c:

    bootsect /nt60 c: /mbr

    diskpart

    sel vol c

    act

    sel vol f

    inact

    exi

    close cmd prompt. Restart. You're good.

    You might want to go into Bios and set Disk 0 as first HD in Bios boot order - not essential.

    You need to keep the C letter for the 7 partition ( which you want to do anyway).

    The others you can change as you like. In Disk Management, Rt click the one you want to change and select "Change drive letters and paths"


    I should point out that this guy's xp hard drive is 'f'.........so if yours is different sub f for the the apprrpriate vol letter ( mine is d)
     
    Last edited: 11 Apr 2010
  5. Dano

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 19 Dec 2006

    Posts: 9,628

    Location: UK

    Pretty sure removing the old drive, booting from the W7 disc and running a repair will sort it.
     
  6. Citizen

    Gangster

    Joined: 11 Apr 2008

    Posts: 130

    Tried that dano,didn't work.
     
  7. Citizen

    Gangster

    Joined: 11 Apr 2008

    Posts: 130

    Well i used that sequence above and it worked perfectly! :) My win7 HD boots after being set as the primary drive in bios
     
  8. Dano

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 19 Dec 2006

    Posts: 9,628

    Location: UK

    That sucks, it usually does. For future reference though, always install windows 7 with only the installation drive attached as it'll save any grief like this :)
     
  9. Citizen

    Gangster

    Joined: 11 Apr 2008

    Posts: 130

    Yeah i know that now :cool: