1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows Corruption Prob

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Nauggie, 9 Mar 2006.

  1. Nauggie

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Nov 2005

    Posts: 208

    Hi not sure which component is faulty so will post here, my specs:

    Abit AN8 Ultra
    AMD Venice 3200
    (2x512) Crucial Ballistix.
    80gig Seagate 7200 SATAII (replacement for Maxtor)
    500W Enermax Modular

    Build was solid for 3 months then I added another 2 modules of RAM to give me 2gig. Got BSODs and windows installation was corrupted. At worst point it would not post - got error code 0.4. I pulled it all out and rebuilt from scratch. It worked. Reinstalled everything:

    Ran Prime95 torture test and memtest for 12 hours with no errors. Great!!

    BUT.. Booted later on and got 'windows can't load because config file is missing'

    I have ran seagate diagnostics and it gave the HDD the all clear but pointed out errors in the file structure.

    So why would adding RAM start corrupting my windows install?

    Thanks for any ideas
     
  2. Gun9

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 512

    Location: north east

    mmmmmm i woud do a full reinstall of windows,and a bios update.

    once you got windows installed get all the updates and install them.

    should solve it.
     
  3. Nauggie

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Nov 2005

    Posts: 208

    Hi - yeah done all that. Cleared the CMOS a few times to.

    Windows keeps getting corrupted after each clean install.
     
  4. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    Could be the Venice not liking four sticks of RAM :confused:
     
  5. Nauggie

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Nov 2005

    Posts: 208

    well when i first got the mobo i had BSODs and ended up reseating the 2 sticks of RAM into different slots which solved it up till now.

    This time after installing all 4 sticks and getting BSODs i went back to 2 sticks but the problem did not go away.

    I suspect a twitchy mobo.