1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

windows home server in vmware bluescreen error

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by kiel367, 9 Mar 2010.

  1. kiel367

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jul 2009

    Posts: 2,156

    Location: at home, you?

    im getting an error while installing windows home server in fact its a b.s.o.d error, with a 0x000000007b error which i know to be a hard drive error, but i have created a new virtual drive and then it formats in the process of install, can anyone shed any light into why i am getting this particular blue screen error?
     
  2. SiriusB

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Dec 2005

    Posts: 14,448

    Location: Manchester

    I had this error once when I used a Dynamic Virtual HDD. Windows had an issue with the changing size and crashed.
     
  3. PhillyDee

    Capodecina

    Joined: 12 Feb 2007

    Posts: 14,169

    Location: South Shields

    Virtual drive? It could be because you are trying to do something it doesnt want/wsnt designed to do?
     
  4. SiriusB

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Dec 2005

    Posts: 14,448

    Location: Manchester

    There is no reason why it shouldn't work in a virtual machine - every version of Windows from XP to Vista to 7 and all Server OSs from 2003 to 2008 work just fine in VMs.

    The specific issue I was refering to was a dynamic virtual drive, as opposed to a static virtual drive. The latter is fixed and gets written upon creation. The former is made larger on the fly, though the client OS doesn't [shouldn't] know any different.

    However, in some cases Windows doesn't like this. With both a Windows 7 and 2003 VM I had an issue when using a dynamic virtual disk.
     
  5. .one.

    Mobster

    Joined: 1 Aug 2006

    Posts: 3,723

    Im using virtual box with dynamic virtual disks on win7 with no problems if this helps.
     
  6. marc2003

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Feb 2004

    Posts: 20,323

    Location: England

    i virtualised the WHS beta without any issues. i remember having to configure the VM with an IDE drive because WHS setup failed to detect the default SCSI drive that vmware normally uses for windows 2003. i didn't get any BSODs though - just a simple message saying drive not found. :p
     
  7. lokkers

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Mar 2004

    Posts: 1,930

    Location: Farnborough, Hants

    I've had WHS virtualised in VMware Server just recently, no problems apart from the initial SCSI drive not being found (created an IDE instead).