1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

***Windows Media Player***

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by uknowist, 16 May 2006.

  1. uknowist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Nov 2003

    Posts: 2,429

    Location: Pub

    Hi after recently getting rid of a virus windows media player no longer loads videos. The program loads but the vdeo just doesnt stream. I've downloaded the newest version of it from microsoft but it still doesnt work. Any idea on what to do??
     
    Last edited: 18 May 2006
  2. McDaniel

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,872

    Location: Southend-on-Sea

    not the best answer mate, but WMP is crap imo

    google for VLC player so much better, and takes up alot less resources
     
  3. uknowist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Nov 2003

    Posts: 2,429

    Location: Pub

    lol fair enough, I shall give it a go :D
     
  4. ballistic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 15 May 2006

    Posts: 2,278

    try WMP 11 beta, maybe that will work
     
  5. Mujja

    Mobster

    Joined: 7 Jan 2003

    Posts: 2,791

    Location: Offline

    what type of video are you playing, do you get the sound and no video? maybe the virus app removed a codec.
     
  6. uknowist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Nov 2003

    Posts: 2,429

    Location: Pub

    no sound, it seems to not work with mpeg and avi files mainly, and is picky with wmv files from what ive gathered
     
  7. McDaniel

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,872

    Location: Southend-on-Sea

    re-install the regular coded

    AC3 Filter
    xvid
    divx
    and FFDShow

    they may help
     
  8. uknowist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Nov 2003

    Posts: 2,429

    Location: Pub

    still no luck :(
     
  9. spirit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,885

    reinstall WMP. something got pretty screwed up, reinstall.

    (vlc really is much better than WMP - when you install it & if you use FF dont install FF plugins.)
     
  10. squiffy

    Banned

    Joined: 17 Mar 2006

    Posts: 9,155

    You don't need DIVX, XVID and FFDSHOW. Just install AC-3 Filter and FFDSHOW, you'll still be able to play Xvid and Divx AVI's.
     
  11. McDaniel

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,872

    Location: Southend-on-Sea

    yup i was meant to write "or" instead of and

    :o
     
  12. uknowist

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 25 Nov 2003

    Posts: 2,429

    Location: Pub

    Still not working, tried media player 11 beta as well. AVI files just dont work!! :confused: