1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows XP Professional

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by amx, 30 May 2006.

  1. amx

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Dec 2005

    Posts: 815

    Good morning!

    Am I right in assuming that OEM copies of Windows XP need to re-purchased if you change a major component in your PC such as the motherboard? or can it be installed over and over again, providing the license key is only in use on one PC?
     
  2. Pyrosoft

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Feb 2004

    Posts: 342

    Location: Rotherham

    You're right first time :)
    It's for use with one "PC" and one PC only.
    When the PC goes/dies then the OS goes with it.

    The confusion comes when you try and define what single component makes a PC.
    If your motherboard broke, and you are simple replacing it then this (as far as I am aware) is quite OK because you're not replacing the PC as such, you are just repairing it.

    Hope that's all right and it's Ok for you :)
     
  3. amx

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Dec 2005

    Posts: 815

    Thanks for the quick reply!

    Does the Full Retail version allow you to use it over and over, even if PC components are replaced?
     
  4. Pyrosoft

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Feb 2004

    Posts: 342

    Location: Rotherham

    Over and over again as many times as you like on any PC in the world...as long as it is on one PC and only once PC at a time :)
    If you change a component then you're quite OK
     
  5. Servo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Nov 2003

    Posts: 1,525

    Location: Cumbria

    I have windows oem, and I've changed my computer loads of times. I've called the 0800 microsoft helpline for a new serial number, and explained I've changed the m/b cpu and hd's, and they always give me a new number.
    Last change was last week.
     
  6. amx

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Dec 2005

    Posts: 815

    might see if i can grab myself a cheap OEM version then.

    Thanks for everyone's help.
     
  7. UKDTweak

    Soldato

    Joined: 2 Dec 2002

    Posts: 6,592

    Location: N.Ireland

    The OEM version is tied to the component it is bought with, this can be pre loaded on a PC, or simply bought with a cable.... therefore you can install on another machine, as long as you have the component bought with the software, or you dispose of the original pc, read the OEM licence on your hdd.
     
  8. Burnsy2023

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 17 Nov 2003

    Posts: 36,599

    Location: Southampton, UK

    This is wrong.

    The OEM license needs to be bought with a qualifying piece of hardware to be eligible for an OEM licence. The Licence is then tied to the PC that it's installed on, not the piece of hardware that it was bought with.

    If you change the MB in the PC, MS say that this then requires a new OEM licence.

    If you have a pirarted version of XP, Microsoft will allow you to buy a retail version of the OS for about £92 (i think) which is not tied to a particular pc, you just have one concurrent software licence. This is a utter bargain and in most cases worth th extra money rather then getting another OEM copy.

    Burnsy
     
  9. amx

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Dec 2005

    Posts: 815

    Do they send you a copy of XP on CD/DVD to use in future with a keycode etc?
     
  10. Burnsy2023

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 17 Nov 2003

    Posts: 36,599

    Location: Southampton, UK

    No. You don't get a cd, but you do get an update tool and a product code.

    Burnsy
     
  11. Servo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Nov 2003

    Posts: 1,525

    Location: Cumbria

    Funny that, I had no problem obtaining a new key from ms 0800 number just the other day. They knew, I've changed my hardware. So far I've had 3 major changes all including new m/b's and cpu's.

    All they did was ask a few questions, eg. if the product was installed on one pc, and this is deffo oem windows.
     
  12. Burnsy2023

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 17 Nov 2003

    Posts: 36,599

    Location: Southampton, UK

    It's their policy not to issue activation in those circumstances and its worded so MS can revoke the licence in such cases. But you seem to have been lucky. They are in no obligation to allow you to reactivate again.

    Burnsy
     
  13. bledd

    Don

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 46,770

    Location: Parts Unknown

    the guys on the end of the line don't really care, if you just say "motherboad has stopped working and has been replaced", they'll give you a new code
     
  14. Ghuraba

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,142

    Location: Leeds

    I bought an OEM copy of XP in 2002 without buying a single bit of hardware from a major retail outlet. I wonder how this would apply to my PC, which is the third PC since 2001 I have owned and used the same XP on. Anyway I have rang the 0800 number every 2-3 months for 4 years and always get a new serial number. They just ask me why and I tell them I do a lot of installing/uninstalling and need to clean up my PC every few months. I never knew they could refuse to give me a new key.

    Michael
     
  15. cyclopopcicle

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Aug 2003

    Posts: 1,424

    dont any of you even find this ridiculas that when some hardware is replaced that you would have to buy a new oem product that isnt broke?
    isnt this connage to the highest?
     
  16. markysparky

    Associate

    Joined: 10 Mar 2006

    Posts: 80

    Yes, especially when Microsoft bring out a new operating system every couple of years anyway
     
  17. Pyrosoft

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Feb 2004

    Posts: 342

    Location: Rotherham

    No.
    The point is that you have a choice. If you dont want that restriction then get the version that doesnt have this licensing restriction.
    Choice mun choice ;)


    Aye, 2001 to 2007 is a couple of years ;)
     
  18. Unromantic__Me

    Gangster

    Joined: 23 Oct 2005

    Posts: 279

    what is the MS 0800 number, just off hand?
     
  19. cyclopopcicle

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Aug 2003

    Posts: 1,424


    ok hows about looking at it this way
    i buy a microwave oven the fuse blows but i know that if i change the fuse all will be well, but i have to go buy another microwave just so that the manufacturer can have more money

    dont peaple buy oem because its cheeper because it comes with no other stuff like manuals, or see it this way would you buy another motherboard (oem) because you changed the bios settings
    you have allready bought it and nothing is wrong with it so why pay again?
     
  20. Pyrosoft

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Feb 2004

    Posts: 342

    Location: Rotherham

    Well if there is a choice of 2 contracts when you bought that Microwave, and you went for the one that was cheaper but had a restriction along the lines of not allowing you to change a fuse, then so be it.

    There is more than one reason why people buy OEM software, the reason you give is one reason, fair enough.

    I'm not arguing with you here the simple fact is that if you want to install it on a single PC and only a single PC and get a new copy when that machine/component dies then you go and get the cheaper version. If you want to be free of that restriction, and get manuals and a box etc etc, then you pay that bit more.
    No one is MAKING people buy OEM over a standard version.
    Like I say, you have a choice.

    Now don't get me wrong here, I am quite sure that MS would allow you to register it even if it was on a new PC as long as you tell them what they want to hear, it isnt going to be difficult.