1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wireless network setup with AOL?

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by mburn_83, 24 May 2006.

  1. mburn_83

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Jun 2004

    Posts: 498

    Location: Chryston, Glasgow

    Hi,

    A friend wants me to setup a wireless network in her home- to share the AOL gold connection with two pc's.

    Having looked around the net, i found that some routers have problems with AOL- does anyone have any advice/help on how to go about setting up such a network?

    Regards
     
  2. MajorPart

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Jan 2006

    Posts: 404

    Location: Edinburgh

    Netgear DG834G (v2)

    Works perfectly fine and AOL gives you install guides and support

    Goto AOL Keyword: Home Networking (i think it is) should give you details.
     
  3. tomo2big

    Gangster

    Joined: 5 Feb 2003

    Posts: 230

    i think as long as it supports pppoe you will be ok
     
  4. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    Best idea. As long as it'll let you reduce the MTU (don't bother with PPPoE, it's a waste of time), you're fine - but getting a router that AOL will give you support for might very well be a good idea.

    Nope.
     
  5. mburn_83

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Jun 2004

    Posts: 498

    Location: Chryston, Glasgow

    i had read some sites and some people seemed to have trouble viewing secure sites. I think i will go with that netgear router as its supported.

    Thanks for the info

    regards
    Mark
     
  6. tolien

    Caporegime

    Joined: 16 May 2003

    Posts: 25,368

    Location: ::1

    Because you need to change your MTU to 1400 with AOL.

     
  7. MajorPart

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Jan 2006

    Posts: 404

    Location: Edinburgh

    I concour, It is the issue with AOL requiring an unusually low MTU that causes sites like ΣBay and some secure sites to not load or load weird.. But as i said pop along to AOL help pages at that keyword and it should set you straight.