1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

wiring help (Again)

Discussion in 'Case Central' started by Active 95, 13 Apr 2006.

  1. Active 95

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Mar 2006

    Posts: 77

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    Hi all

    Anyone help with wiring this? i've got a rocker switch (3 pin) that i want to use to switch the leds (using for lighting) on and off,

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Yewen

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2003

    Posts: 17,719

    Location: Leeds

    Humm be careful with what people suggest as it may blow your psu, test on a cheap on first.

    I would feel happier using another power supply, not the PSU to run them, then its a case of just turning it on and off.
     
  3. Active 95

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Mar 2006

    Posts: 77

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    They are all rated for pc's

    "This is a switch suitable for a 21mm diameter hole and is an 'inline' switch designed to switch power on or off to 12v devices (eg fans , cold cathode lights etc"
     
  4. Yewen

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2003

    Posts: 17,719

    Location: Leeds

    I have blown a PSU up with one of thoose lights and sticking the switch on the wire poorly :p

    The way it should be done is both wires cut, then solder it to each side of a 6 pin switch; that works.

    It may also work by doing it to only one leg of the wire, but when I tried it back in the days of 230w PSU's it just made it go bang :cool:
     
  5. Active 95

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Mar 2006

    Posts: 77

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    Will be soldering :) fetching wires heatshrink etc tommorow just want some kind soul to tell me what to stick where :p
     
  6. Sparky__H

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Aug 2004

    Posts: 2,069

    Location: Sea of Dirac

    Going to have to agree with Yewen as any home wiring can be lethal if it’s done wrong. All you need is a cheap £20 PSU and 30min of free time to make a test PSU.


    I’ve sealed a solder join with silicone before only to melt it during braiding completing the circuit. Luckily my test PSU took the brunt of it AND still came back for more.
     
  7. Active 95

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Mar 2006

    Posts: 77

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    oh you spoilsports :p
     
  8. Yewen

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2003

    Posts: 17,719

    Location: Leeds

    It is just ive had it happen with EXACTLY what your trying to do, I have the burn marks in my Scorpio case to prove it :D

    Wire them up to a battery, what I ended up doing :p
     
  9. Active 95

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Mar 2006

    Posts: 77

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    i'm in no great rush to install it and don't mind testing it, i've also got a brand spanking new enermax liberty psu so i don't fancy blowing that :eek: just want to know how to so i don't do :p
     
  10. Yewen

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2003

    Posts: 17,719

    Location: Leeds

    Have you managed to try it out on another PSU yet?
     
    Last edited: 23 Apr 2006
  11. BigDom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2002

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Birmingham

    Why the panic like responses guys, is it because your worried the cold cathode will cause a problem? The switch it's self should be simple to wire up with no risk. A multi meter would be nice to check which connections but all that will happen if you choose the wrong pair is it plain won't work.
     
  12. sagaboy2

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Jun 2005

    Posts: 1,436

    Location: Church Fenton

    Its not hard for god sake, you bunch a wusses

    Yellow is 12v black is 0v

    Cut the yellow wire in half, strip the ends, put heat shrink over the wire, connect the yellow wire to one side of the switch and the other end to the central pin then solder the wire to the switch and heat shrink to prevent short circuits over the terminals.

    Doing this should leave the molex ready to connect to the PSU.

    Iv done this with cathodes and it works fine aslong as you dont cross over the black and yellow wires why should anything go wrong.
     
  13. BigDom

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Nov 2002

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Birmingham

    hehe hence my reply /wink... but never having used cold cathodes I was wondering if I'd missed something.. the switch it's self is totally worry free.
     
  14. Yewen

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2003

    Posts: 17,719

    Location: Leeds

    Yes, im just saying I blew a PC up with one of these and a switch when I turned it on, Mircon 230w PSU.
     
  15. Active 95

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Mar 2006

    Posts: 77

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    sagaboy2 my hero :p but i like the idea of a test psu!!! a small local pc shop is going to put a secondhand one aside for me, they won't sell second psu's on normally but they don't mind me having one to mod for testing purposes, think that's really good of them :)
     
  16. Yewen

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Nov 2003

    Posts: 17,719

    Location: Leeds

    Mentioned test psu in the 2nd line of the first reply :cool:

    If you get it working, post results. :) :)
     
  17. Active 95

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Mar 2006

    Posts: 77

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    I know yewen, thats why i'm getting one :p i didn't even know you could mod a psu till you guys said, but a quick look on the web and :D
     
  18. Active 95

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Mar 2006

    Posts: 77

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    so this is what we are saying?

    [​IMG]
     
  19. sagaboy2

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Jun 2005

    Posts: 1,436

    Location: Church Fenton

    yes :)
     
  20. Active 95

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Mar 2006

    Posts: 77

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    cheerz ;)