1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Worth the upgrade?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by SamLB, 10 Apr 2010.

  1. SamLB

    Associate

    Joined: 10 Jan 2010

    Posts: 30

    By the end of the month I should have saved up £800, I want to upgrade my rig but not too sure what to choose.
    My current setup is:

    Q6600 @ 3.0GHZ
    4GB DDR2 RAMAsus Motherboard
    2 x 5850 CrossfireX
    500GB Samsung Spinpoint F3 Hard Drive

    I've currently selected 2 builds but don't know which one to choose from:

    AMD Phenom II X4 Quad Core 955 Black Edition 3.20GHz (Socket AM3) - Retail

    Gigabyte GA-790FXTA-UD5 (Socket AM3) PCI-Express DDR3 Motherboard

    OCZ Vertex 60GB 2.5" SATA-II Solid State Hard Drive (OCZSSD2-1VTX60G)

    Corsair XMS3 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C9 1600MHz Dual Channel Kit (CMX4GX3M2A1600C9)

    CoolIT Eco A.L.C. High-Performance CPU Watercooler (Socket AM2/AM2+/AM3/LGA775/LGA1156/LGA1366)

    Samsung SpinPoint F3 500GB SATA-II 16MB Cache - OEM (HD502HJ)

    Xilence XPF120R Red Wing 120mm Quiet Fan

    Or

    Intel Core i7 930 2.80GHz (Bloomfield) (Socket LGA1366) - Retail

    Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R Intel X58 (Socket 1366) DDR3 Motherboard

    BenQ G2410HD 23.6" Widescreen LCD Monitor

    Corsair XMS3 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C9 (1600MHz) Tri-Channel (TR3X6G1600C9)

    CoolIT Eco A.L.C. High-Performance CPU Watercooler (Socket AM2/AM2+/AM3/LGA775/LGA1156/LGA1366)

    Samsung SpinPoint F3 500GB SATA-II 16MB Cache - OEM (HD502HJ)

    Xilence XPF120R Red Wing 120mm Quiet Fan


    What do you think I should do then?

    Thanks
    Sam
     
    Last edited: 10 Apr 2010
  2. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 17 Jan 2010

    Posts: 66,847

    Location: weston-super-mare

    can't see pictures

    maybe just list them if your having image tag problems.
     
  3. Fallen god

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Oct 2008

    Posts: 6,685

    Location: London

    Well your system looks good man The only thing you could try is OCin your Q6600 till like 3.4ghz, dont really see any reason for an upgrade. Also i cant see the builds you spec'd might just be me not sure.
     
  4. Fallen god

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Oct 2008

    Posts: 6,685

    Location: London

    I Think the i7 Build looks good but why does only one have a Screen and the other has a SSD?
     
  5. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 17 Jan 2010

    Posts: 66,847

    Location: weston-super-mare

    i7 definitely

    the amd spec aint much of an upgrade.
     
  6. SamLB

    Associate

    Joined: 10 Jan 2010

    Posts: 30

    Well here is my dilema, my VID on my Q6600 is 1.325 even though its a G0 stepping. So overclocking my Q6600 will be much harder I think :/

    With the AMD build I can have a SSD too, or would the i7 be generally better anyway?
     
  7. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 17 Jan 2010

    Posts: 66,847

    Location: weston-super-mare

    Those water cooling complete in one systems(corsair H50, coolit) usually struggle with i7 past 4ghz.
     
  8. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 17 Jan 2010

    Posts: 66,847

    Location: weston-super-mare

    the amd system is not that much faster, than your current stuff.

    i7 is the only option.
     
  9. SamLB

    Associate

    Joined: 10 Jan 2010

    Posts: 30

    Ok thanks for the help, looks like I will be getting an i7 by the end of the month :D

    Is Raid 0 faster than an SSD?

    Thanks
    Sam
     
  10. stulid

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: 17 Jan 2010

    Posts: 66,847

    Location: weston-super-mare

    SSD always.
     
  11. joey2cool

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 Jan 2010

    Posts: 294

    Location: Portsmouth

    do you really need an i7? your 6600 is a perfectly good gaming CPU. unless you plan to do some sick encoding or stuff the 6600 is fine for gaming! the xfire 5850s will chew up all games, and youre only gonna be spending 800 quid on new hardware for the sake of spending 800 quid! a 2nd monitor and maybe a secondary 1tb storage drive is the most you need right now, an i7 setup is a waste of money if you only wanna game. Yes ok, 200 fps is bigger than 100 fps for example, but if you can only see 60 fps, what is the pont?
     
  12. pastymuncher

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 12 Jul 2005

    Posts: 19,109

    Location: Aberlour, NE Scotland

    There is absolutely nothing wrong with what you already have. I take it the main use will be gaming in which case you will probably not notice much of a performance increase even with i7. By all means get the ssd and the watercooling kit and stick the kit on your Q6600 to get it clocked further. I had a high vid Q6600 yet it still hit 3.8Ghz. Vid is not the problem that a lot of people make it out to be.
     
  13. SamLB

    Associate

    Joined: 10 Jan 2010

    Posts: 30

    Ok maybe I'll leave the i7 then. I been looking round on Ebay and found a Q9550 which would probably cost only £20 to £50 after I sell my Q6600. Hopefully I will be able to get this to 4.00ghz, do you feel this is a more sensible upgrade?

    I will be getting a new moniter, SSD and hard drive also :)

    Are the OCZ Vertex 60GB SSD's any good?
    Sorry for all the questions but is it possible to use the SSD for windows 7 and raid 0 hard drives for general applications?

    Thanks
    Sam
     
  14. joey2cool

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 Jan 2010

    Posts: 294

    Location: Portsmouth

    hmm if you are buying from the bay, then you really dont know what you are gonna be getting, a bit risky in my opinion. Personally i wouldnt ever buy overclockable components from the bay as they could have been previously OCed and damaged :S Therefore I would still suggest to keep the Q6600 rather than risk a 9550 from ebay?

    As for the specific drive, i dont know; but you can do that with the SSD and raid 0. Putting W7 on the SSD will yield a nice increase in loading
     
  15. SamLB

    Associate

    Joined: 10 Jan 2010

    Posts: 30

    However the one reason for my wanting to get rid of my Q6600 is because I can't overclock it that far unless I pump quite abit of voltage through it, my cpu cooler really struggles when I up the voltage :/

    So I havent got much for choice unless I consider watercooling :/
     
  16. joey2cool

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 Jan 2010

    Posts: 294

    Location: Portsmouth

    what cooler do you have on it currently? and is the ability to play with OC the main reason u want an upgrade? or are you just wanting a slightly faster pc?
     
  17. SamLB

    Associate

    Joined: 10 Jan 2010

    Posts: 30

    I currently have the Thermalright True Black. No I feel I need to overclock because I seem to get really crap FPS compared to other results, this makes me feel that I am not getting the most out of my system.
     
  18. joey2cool

    Gangster

    Joined: 7 Jan 2010

    Posts: 294

    Location: Portsmouth

    hmm well a q9550 would certainly improve things, but i guess it up to you if wanna risk buying it from ebay! would be a better idea to maybe see if u can pick it up new somewhere else? As far as getting crap fps, i guess it could be CPU related, but mostly its about GPU these days, something your xfire 5850s are definately not in short supply of!
     
  19. Fallen god

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Oct 2008

    Posts: 6,685

    Location: London

    If it just for gaming you could just get a i5 upgrade i5 and i7 are really close when it comes to games.
     
  20. FunnyKids

    Associate

    Joined: 14 Dec 2009

    Posts: 57

    Between i7 and AMD I prefer I7 seen I am intel fanboy :D. Between i7 vs i5 I think i7 main have better potential to upgrade later, it worth the extra money.