1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wow.......no not that WoW!!

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by Farty two, 12 Jan 2006.

  1. Farty two

    Gangster

    Joined: 13 Jun 2005

    Posts: 145

    just installed 2 gig ram and tried battlefield 2 straight away :p

    WOW it's ace no more waiting 5 mins till it smoothes it self out, loading takes no time at all and and and............ :D

    another thing that used to get on nerves was waiting an age before the computer got back to speed after you exit the game............NOW IT'S NSTANT.

    i really didn't want to upgrade the ram thinking it wouldn't make much difference.

    sorry if this seems a little over the top,and given the fact that it's been mentioned a million times before (about the 2 gig) i couldn't contain my JOY!! :D
     
  2. Nieldo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,992

    Location: Manchester, UK

    Woot! I know what upgrade Im getting next!

    Would you recommend 2gb of geil value?
     
  3. Puppetmaster

    Soldato

    Joined: 17 Jun 2005

    Posts: 6,445

    Location: Near Brighton

    im about to upgrade to 2gb of pc4000 either corsair or OCZ and looking to clock them as well so i cant wait
     
  4. Farty two

    Gangster

    Joined: 13 Jun 2005

    Posts: 145

    yeah i brought geil coz i've never had a problem in the past

    i was i little dissapointed in this game considering i got a 7800gt a while ago and thought stuff it i'll go ahead and get the ram but thought there was no way it would make this much difference but for me it's made the game much more playable.

    for instance i just quit the game just before typing this and had no wait for this or any other window to pop up and start acting as if i just come back to it after leaveing idle

    i'm well chuffed and considering that geil value kit is on one week only it was even more of a bargain
     
  5. Sleepery

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 4 Jun 2003

    Posts: 9,941

    Location: Fraggle Rock

    I've got 2gb of geil value installed and as long as you're not doing any overclocking it's just fine. Don't be fooled by the shiny heatsinks on it though, you try to run it at anything but stock and it'll just fall over and die.
     
  6. iBot

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 12 Sep 2005

    Posts: 3,309

    Location: England

    had 1 gig geil vaule for ages, bf2 runs perfect anyway.
     
  7. Kreeeee

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 13 Jul 2004

    Posts: 43,276

    Location: /* */

    =/ 2GB Geil Value @ 1T! 2.5-3-3-6 219 FSB
     
  8. dun

    Mobster

    Joined: 5 Nov 2004

    Posts: 4,617

    Location: West Midlands

    yes, i got 4*512mb sticks and they are great, undoubtably the 1gb sticks are the same :)
     
  9. Phil99

    Capodecina

    Joined: 29 Oct 2004

    Posts: 10,901

    What detail settings/have you tried 64 player maps?
     
  10. Farty two

    Gangster

    Joined: 13 Jun 2005

    Posts: 145

    im now running with everything on high/ no aa and at 1280x1024 and very very playable at these settings

    with 1 gig to get it to the same standard i had everything on medium
     
  11. BigRoger

    Gangster

    Joined: 28 Dec 2005

    Posts: 461

    Location: Stoke

    i saw a thread in another forum that if you edit one of the bf2 files you can run it on extra high settings but i forgot what too do.
     
  12. 00fil00

    Associate

    Joined: 8 Jan 2006

    Posts: 60

    i wasnt impressed with bf2 at 2gigs. hardly any performance gain like people say.
     
  13. dbmzk1

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 28 Oct 2002

    Posts: 9,214

    Location: Stockport / Manchester

    2 x 512mb Geil Value here, running at 222mhz @ 1T 2.5-3-3-6, stock volts. Cant imagine the 1gb sticks being that much worse.

    You are best off running everything at medium apart from geometry and view distance which should be on max. Then you can use 4xAA. The difference between medium and high is not enough to warrant the performance drop, while running with AA makes it look better anyway!
     
    Last edited: 29 Jan 2006