1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

X1800XT + 400W Paxpower, Ok ?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Quixote, 30 Jul 2006.

  1. Quixote

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 May 2006

    Posts: 1,242

    Just ordered the connect 3d X1800XT - just couldn't resist at that price. It occured to me after that I may be asking a bit much of my PSU. I have :
    - Pentium D 805 (Stock Speed 2.66 Ghz)
    - 120 GB HDD
    - Zip 100 Internal
    - DVD RW
    - Belkin Wireless Net Card
    - Akasa Paxpower 400W PSU

    Can I get away with it ?
    Upgrading from a Geforce 6600 GT - A great card but I'm looking forward to the jump to the next level.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  2. Darkwave

    Capodecina

    Joined: 25 Oct 2005

    Posts: 13,780

    Someone here uses a 400w PSU for their X1800XT, I think it was LoadsaMoney but I can't remember really. I do remember someone saying it though as I mentioned that mine runs rock steady on my Akasa Paxpower 460w (the blue LED one) with tons of fans and LCDs, aftermarket cooling and crap all through my system.
     
  3. locutus12

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 11 Mar 2004

    Posts: 5,897


    actually its me :rolleyes: :D

    Asrock 939 running opty [email protected] 2.65Ghz 1.425v
    2X opticle drives
    1X X1800XT 512mb
    1 usb hard drive
    1 internal drive
    2X1 gig Corsair XMS clocked to buggery.
    various cooling systems
    2X 120mm fans
    oh, and lights.

    400 Watt Paxpower. not a problem for me so far :)
     
  4. Foehammer2003

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Apr 2006

    Posts: 981

    Location: Arms reach from mouse

    Excellent just what i was wondering too! Reckon a Aerocool 450W will handle a X1900XT-X? Soz dont mean to highjack at all, just was thinking the same thing recently
     
  5. Quixote

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 3 May 2006

    Posts: 1,242

    Hey no probs, feel free to post your Q's here. I'm sure the old garde get sick of all these X1800XT PSU threads.
    I thought it will probably be ok, as this is a decent PSU, only my Pentium D (an 8 series too) gave me pause for thought. I'll post my results when the card arrives but feeling it'll be ok.
    @Foehammer2003 ; I reckon you'll be ok too, as I understand it the X1900 series is more power efficient than the 1800 series ; wouldn't be surprised if it draws little more than mine. Though I'm not sure how much more power - hungry the extra X makes it - or the specs of your PSU.
     
  6. Raikiri

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jul 2005

    Posts: 17,778

    Location: Brighton


    An 805 at stock? O_o :p

    I think it would be ok, the paxpowers are good PSUs.

    @Foehammer - not sure there (I have the same PSU I think, modular one?), dual core + x1900xt-x will use a lot of power. Try it first though.
     
  7. Borden

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Jul 2005

    Posts: 3,808

    Location: Derby

    That's good to know then. MY X1800XT is arriving today and my 460W Paxpower was the only thing i was unsure of.
     
  8. Graeme43

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Jul 2006

    Posts: 304

    Location: Scotland

    I use mine on a 430 Seasonic S12, though I think its pushing it :(
     
    Last edited: 31 Jul 2006
  9. Fanatic

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Jan 2006

    Posts: 2,669

    Location: Birmingham

    I run my PC:

    P4 550 - 3.4ghz
    2gb ddr2 (4x512mb)
    x1800xt 512mb
    2 x 250gb hdd
    2 x DVD/DVD-RW
    Floppy
    Loads of USB things

    ...off a Dell 300 or 350W powersupply.

    Soon will get conroe and a 620w enermax.. hopefully it wont blow up till then.
     
  10. Darkwave

    Capodecina

    Joined: 25 Oct 2005

    Posts: 13,780

    Sorry. :p :D My memory is reallly bad, but yeah. It's him! ^ :)
     
  11. krooton

    Caporegime

    Joined: 9 May 2004

    Posts: 26,992

    Location: Leafy outskirts of London

    I have a 400w Silverpower PSU and it is powering my rig as per my sig with the following upgrades:

    Connect3d X1800XT instead of the X800 XT PE
    4000+ Clawhammer instead of the 3000+
    Asus A8N-E instead of the AV8

    No problems at all, gave it a good roasting in Oblivion and NFS:MW :)
     
  12. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 29,873

    Location: In a house

    Im running a 520w GlobalWin SuperSilent here, but as said a 400w would be fine, Gibbo said in another thread that he's ran overclocked systems with x1800 XT's on a 380w. :)
     
  13. Dynix

    Hitman

    Joined: 25 Feb 2004

    Posts: 2,802