1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

X1800XT and FEAR

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by StevenG, 9 Mar 2006.

  1. StevenG

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Jan 2006

    Posts: 3,119

    Location: Gateshead, Newcastle

    can i play fear at 1280x1024 with all the eye candy on FULL... i mean everything apart from the shadow thing...???? as this is suposed to look crap
     
  2. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 29,809

    Location: In a house

    Yes, i did. :D
     
  3. Fx-Overlord

    Hitman

    Joined: 23 May 2005

    Posts: 812

    Location: Hove

    Why don't you play it to find out. Everyone has their own opinion regarding playability so it would be best to have a little play first ;)

    However, from past reviews, i think you should be fine with those settings.
     
  4. StevenG

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Jan 2006

    Posts: 3,119

    Location: Gateshead, Newcastle

    its in OCUK's warehouse lol waiting to be packaged up lol....
     
  5. Goksly

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Mar 2003

    Posts: 10,626

    Location: Nottingham

    I play with everything on max -> 4xAA / 8xAF (HQ AF / A-AA) at 1280x1024. I think 6xAA/16xAF would be a bit much, but at my every day settings it looks great and never slows down.
    2GB of ram is still a must though - else u will get slow downs regardless of any graphics card setup.
     
  6. StevenG

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Jan 2006

    Posts: 3,119

    Location: Gateshead, Newcastle

    well my X1800XT, DFI ULTRA-D, GeIL value 2GB ram is on its way to me :D
     
  7. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 29,809

    Location: In a house

    Nice, will run it fine, got 2gb of the Geil Value here to, as well as an A64 3500+ :cool:
     
  8. [email protected]

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Nov 2005

    Posts: 11,412

    i play it at 1680x1050 all on high no soft shadows

    [email protected]
    x1800xt
    2gb cas2 ram @ 208.mhz
    x-fi card

    smooth as silk

    4xaa
     
  9. locutus12

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 11 Mar 2004

    Posts: 5,897



    erm, allow me to tell you that its not... :D there isnt a game currently out that cant be played at max settings when used in 1280X1024 with the X1800XT 512.


    as for the ram, your quite right :)

    but CPU can be a major bottleneck on this card, make sure youve got at least 2.4Ghz (effecient AMD :D) or 3.4Ghz (sloppy Intel :p) under the hood,
     
  10. StevenG

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Jan 2006

    Posts: 3,119

    Location: Gateshead, Newcastle

    only got a 3500+ at about 2.3 and its the 256model i got... the best i could afford... should still be a hell of alot better than my current setup SEE SIG lol :D
     
  11. locutus12

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 11 Mar 2004

    Posts: 5,897

    hmmm, going from a 5900XT eh? doubt youl see much of an increase to be honest


    MUHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA :D
     
  12. Metalface Mark

    Capodecina

    Joined: 26 Dec 2005

    Posts: 15,352

    Location: Paisley

    you can, but you wont get a constant 60fps if thats what your aiming for.
     
  13. smids

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Dec 2004

    Posts: 6,660

    Location: London/Kent

    Yeah, depends on the game too. My current setup (as sig) plays everything maxed but then I'm limited to 1024 on my current pants monitor (don't worry, come the end of my finals exams on May 19th.... :D).
     
  14. StevenG

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Jan 2006

    Posts: 3,119

    Location: Gateshead, Newcastle

    well ive just finished fear 1day before i get my new graphics :( great game. love the end ;) might have to do it again on extreme.. i had it on medium and hard this time arround. might just have to get quake 4 back out :D... cant wait..

    and with regards to fps... im playing on a 5900Xt right now i think anything is better than that :D
     
  15. lay-z-boy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 9,231

    Location: Nantwich

    x1900xtx can play fear with all details at max possible, 12x10 res.
    I was very suprised the lowest fps ive had is 50 so far!
    As theres hardly any diff between x1800xt and that everything max, 12x10 with 4 or 6aa should be possible with constant good frames.
    You NEED 2gb ram and a fast cpu though.
     
  16. speeduk

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 3 Mar 2003

    Posts: 7,532

    Location: Canterbury

    If you play the game all the way through @ 1280x1024 6xAA 16xAF your minimum FPS (especially at start) will be below 30 on an x1900.

    I play @ 2xAA 4xAF @ 1680x1050 because I need 50fps+ or the lag effect gets on my nerves.

    But FEAR is the only game that pushes the newer cards.
     
  17. locutus12

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 11 Mar 2004

    Posts: 5,897


    this is what i love about fps... different to everyone... to me over 25fps and i dont notice a thing... :p
     
  18. StevenG

    Mobster

    Joined: 25 Jan 2006

    Posts: 3,119

    Location: Gateshead, Newcastle

    well my monitors are limited to either 1280x1024 or 1440x900 well my card is on a van will be here today...

    how do you find out your FPS??? do you have to run a test or something?
     
  19. ACESHIGH

    Mobster

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 4,305

    You can use FRAPS.


    And the X1800XT is a great card, even with 256MB, there isnt many cards better than it, the ones that are are all priced well above.