1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

x1900xt and HD tv

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Willbo, 11 Jul 2006.

  1. Willbo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Jul 2004

    Posts: 1,219

    Location: Solihull, Birmingham

    is it possible to get my x1900xt to output HD to a HDTV?
    the box says HDTV on it, but i'm just curious as to how i could do it and what the results are like?

    i'm thinking of getting a HDtv and instead of buying a HD compatible DVD player, i'd use my PC to play DVDs if i knew i could output HD
     
  2. FrankJH

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jun 2005

    Posts: 22,512

    probably best to post in the av section near the bottom

    but with a few software additions ( fddshow and media player classic are common combinations I believe) you should be ok - but its to do with cpu horsepower as well I believe so check down there for more details

    edit ...didnt read your sig - I should guess that your X2 4400 with 2GB should be more than capable
     
  3. Psycho Sonny

    Caporegime

    Joined: 21 Jun 2006

    Posts: 36,118

    yes its possible look in the Catalyst Control Centre there is a section which is all about enabline HD modes
     
  4. Shining

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Nov 2003

    Posts: 434

    Location: Perth, Western Australia

    you just plug it in like a monitor with DVI, and then set it to the native resolutioon. simple :)
     
  5. Psycho Sonny

    Caporegime

    Joined: 21 Jun 2006

    Posts: 36,118

    he wants to run HD though, my native res is 1360 x 768 but hd is 1024 x 768
     
  6. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,971

    Location: England

    1360x768 is hd, anything with 700 horizontal pixels or more is hd.

    If your thinking of using your pc to play dvds, ffdshow is a must.
     
    Last edited: 12 Jul 2006
  7. FrankJH

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jun 2005

    Posts: 22,512


    I wouldnt say its a must personally - dont get me wrong it certainly has benefits but I cant tell that much difference between a decent upscaling DVD player / tv and ffdshow
     
  8. testa12

    Gangster

    Joined: 25 Jan 2006

    Posts: 345

    PowerDVD, bundled with the 1900xtx (at least with the Saffire) works just fine for HD playback.
     
  9. Jakus

    Mobster

    Joined: 31 Jul 2004

    Posts: 3,733

    You can output virtually any type of signal from the Ati card !
    The Factor is You need a Friendly HD TV, DVI or DVI/Hdmi is the best method but research the Particular TV as for best results You want 1:1 pixel mapping

    take a look here :- http://www.avforums.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=155