1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

X2 4400 and 4600 prices

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by JKD, 17 Jan 2006.

  1. JKD

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Jun 2004

    Posts: 1,413

    Hi guys,

    Any particular reason why I should be able to find the 4600+ 20 quid cheaper than the 4400?

    Cheers.
     
  2. Goksly

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Mar 2003

    Posts: 10,592

    Location: Nottingham

    maybe the higher cache chips are more in demand?
     
  3. JKD

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Jun 2004

    Posts: 1,413

    That was what I thought - but then I double checked the benchmarks myself. A cast around the net shows the 4600 should be 100 quid or so more expensive.

    Oh well - must be an error in my favour for once. w00t!
     
  4. Xplo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Nov 2004

    Posts: 1,648

    Location: UK

    They are cheaper as they Dont have as much cache as the 440 and like said less demand so less chips sold
     
  5. Xplo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 20 Nov 2004

    Posts: 1,648

    Location: UK

    although the extra cache is ment to be as good as 200mhz so they must both perfrom the same actually good
     
  6. StarShock

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Nov 2005

    Posts: 1,761

    just to throw another spanner in the works, I've got to be one of the very few people who actually bought a 4600 despite it having less cache, and one thing I've found about mine, that nobodey seems to have mentioned, is that its a d*mn fine clocker, I got mine up to 2700 on stock cooling, and now that I've switched to an AC freezer 64 pro I've got it up to 2800.

    So sure it has less cache but it still performs like a demon
     
  7. edger

    Gangster

    Joined: 14 Jan 2004

    Posts: 445

    maybe because less cache = cooler = more room for overclocking (especially on air).
     
  8. Kesnel

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,651

    Location: 127.0.0.1

    The Manchester cores do seem to be clocking better than the Toledos.

    Regarding cache, you're only going to see that extra 200mhz in cache heavy applications.
     
  9. mattio1980

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Oct 2005

    Posts: 480

    Location: south uk

    yeah no doubt the 4600+ clocks better but know what iv rather have my 4400+ with 2mb of l2 rather than 1mb on the 4600