1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

X2 Overclocking

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by King_Boru, 30 Jan 2006.

  1. King_Boru

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Jan 2005

    Posts: 2,356

    Location: Canada

    Looking to upgrade from a single core to dual core. Thinking about the X2 3800+. What is the average overclock people are hitting with good air on these?

    Also looking at the Opteron 165 (If I can find somewhere to get them).

    Not interested in £250+ cpu's. Always go for bang per buck.

    Any recomendations?

    Cheers,

    King.
     
  2. tomos

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2004

    Posts: 2,292

    Location: Liverpool

    think its totally down to luck on what your chip will do. then add in the rest of your components.

    there is a thread on here with our results on clocking this CPU.
     
  3. King_Boru

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Jan 2005

    Posts: 2,356

    Location: Canada

    sod it, just bought it. want a dual core so got a dual core.

    will have a look around.
     
  4. tomos

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2004

    Posts: 2,292

    Location: Liverpool

    heh - nice :D

    hopefully you'll get a good un. mine's up to 2.8ghz at the mo - although will probably have to lower that in summer when it gets hotter. hopefully will get one of those OCZ phase jobbies by then :D
     
  5. Perfect_Chaos

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Aug 2004

    Posts: 4,488

    Location: In dem hills

    can anyone tell me if the memory controllers on these are better than winnies? if i get one dont want to have a crappy memory speed running
     
  6. tomos

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2004

    Posts: 2,292

    Location: Liverpool

    never had a winnie so cant say, but i can say that i run my RAM @ 280 fsb 1:1 with timings 2.5-3-3-7 and my CPU has no probs with that.
     
  7. Perfect_Chaos

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Aug 2004

    Posts: 4,488

    Location: In dem hills

    what dual cpu is that? or should the memory controller be good in all these?, is it also possible to have a mobo that doesnt like high mem speed? as if so, maybe thats the prob with mine, yet i dont know which the prob is :(
     
  8. tomos

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2004

    Posts: 2,292

    Location: Liverpool

    mine is the 3800+ X2 - running on a DFI board - ultra-D with 2x512 pc4000 crucial ballistix. your DFI should be ok for good clocks
     
  9. Perfect_Chaos

    Mobster

    Joined: 26 Aug 2004

    Posts: 4,488

    Location: In dem hills

    thanks, its just i have 2 cpu's and im having a hard time getting any sort of stability. as for these dual cores can u tell me if the 4400 is the better buy? since it has more cache, ive been wondering this, but then it also costs quite a bit more
     
  10. tomos

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2004

    Posts: 2,292

    Location: Liverpool

    i have a 4400+ X2 in another CPU but havent clocked it yet. no way to tell how much it'll clock before hand tho :(

    personally if you plan to clock - just get the 3800 X2 IMO
     
  11. Nixeh

    Hitman

    Joined: 3 Jun 2005

    Posts: 874

    Location: Bristol/Portsmouth, England

    But how much difference does the extra 512kb per core actually make?
     
  12. lemonkettaz

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Nov 2005

    Posts: 11,806

    equivalent to an extra 200mhz..

    so 2.2ghz 512kb l2cahe

    will theoretically be 200mhz slower than

    2.2ghz 1mb l2 cache

    apparently

    its able to store twice as much recent processors in its memory. so there will be a difference in performance at stock.. and more if overclocked
     
  13. tomos

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2004

    Posts: 2,292

    Location: Liverpool

    but doesnt that depend on the application you're using? i mean what i saw with my 3800 clocked to 2.2gig - there wasnt any measurable diff i could tell that would seperate them.
     
  14. A.N.Other

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Nov 2005

    Posts: 8,064

    Location: MK45

    Have a look at this thread...

    LINKAGE

    it should have EVERYTHING you need :p
     
  15. loltim

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 14,599

    Location: Wellington, NZ

    Its all down to luck with these, mine will do 2.6GHz with a tad under 1.5v. I run Prime 95 on each core, Core1 is absolutely rock solid at 2.7 and 2.8GHz, unfortunately Core0 isn't.

    Kinda sucks knowing one core is better than the other, I'd rather them both fail at 2.7:o

    But anyway, can't grumble at a 600MHz overclock, it could have been much worse looking at some results over at XS, some fail to do 2.4!
     
  16. Soul Rider

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Nov 2005

    Posts: 434

    Location: Milton Keynes

    You said you bought a dual core King Boru, what one did you get in the end? 3800 or Opteron 170?
     
  17. King_Boru

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 9 Jan 2005

    Posts: 2,356

    Location: Canada

    I couldnt be arsed to spend the extra £££ on a 170 Opty. Just got a 3800 in the end.

    It arrived today at work stepping is as follows:

    LDBHE 0601VPMW

    Hope its ok, just looking at 2.4 - 2.5 speeds really. When I get some watercooling Ill proberbly go higher.
     
  18. loltim

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 14,599

    Location: Wellington, NZ

    Same stepping as mine King_Boru, should do 2.5 with ease.
     
  19. AMDX23800+

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Mar 2006

    Posts: 676

    i have the x2 3800+ and i might try to overclock it :p
    I've still got it at 2.0ghz ! lol