1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XBox 360 dead already :(

Discussion in 'Console Games & Hardware' started by DreXeL, 9 Jul 2006.

  1. DreXeL

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 12,265

    Location: Cotswolds

    About 10 minutes ago I was in the middle of downloading a demo when my 360 switched itself off.

    Now when I power it up it locks up when the 'x globe' spins away from the screen on start up.

    I have had it for just one week :rolleyes:
     
  2. ~J~

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 20 Oct 2003

    Posts: 7,558

    Location: London

    Heat issue maybe? Leave it off for about 30mins or so and try again.
     
  3. DreXeL

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 12,265

    Location: Cotswolds

    Yeah it does seem like that, I left it for 10 minutes and tried but it's still the same. I'll give it half an hour.
     
  4. Nismo

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,549

    Location: UK

    Disconnect all the leads too :)
     
  5. DreXeL

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 12,265

    Location: Cotswolds

    Have done :)
     
  6. Psymonkee

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Feb 2004

    Posts: 13,952

    Location: St.Andrews

    Any red lights on the front?

    Or you could just rebuild it :D
     
  7. DreXeL

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 12,265

    Location: Cotswolds

    No red lights. Just tried it again and still the same thing. I just phoned the place I got it from, they will swap it over.

    Still a pain though, I had loads of demos on the HD :mad:
     
  8. ~J~

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 20 Oct 2003

    Posts: 7,558

    Location: London

    Keep the HDD, tell them it's all your saved games on it, I still don't know why MS or the shops insist on returning the HDD.

    Glad to hear no hassle though.
     
  9. gord

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2003

    Posts: 19,338

    Location: Midlands

    The HDDs can be the cause of a failure though.. thats why Microsoft insist..
     
  10. Dup

    Capodecina

    Joined: 10 Mar 2006

    Posts: 10,353

    Location: East Lancs

    Boot it without the HDD to test?
     
  11. gord

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2003

    Posts: 19,338

    Location: Midlands

    Would be my first port of call, and a pretty simple test too i suppose.. indeed.
     
  12. DreXeL

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 12,265

    Location: Cotswolds

    Tried booting it without the HDD as soon as it did it, still didn't make any difference.

    I took it back and they swapped it no problem, they wouldn't let me keep the HDD though. I did ask, and said that I had demos, save games etc. but they insisted they weren't allowed to :rolleyes:

    Lucky I hadn't got that far in the games.
     
    Last edited: 9 Jul 2006