1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xbox 360 on Samsung HDTV - How???

Discussion in 'Console Games & Hardware' started by The_One, 30 Jan 2006.

  1. The_One

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Dec 2003

    Posts: 11,476

    I'm awaiting delivery of a Samsung 26" HDTV.

    Whats the best way of me connecting my Xbox 360 to it? I have the premium pack do i just use the lead which came with it and switch it from tv to hdtv or is there a better lead for better quality i can use?

    I understand the Samsung has one hd input, an s video link and 2 scart sockets.

    I also have to connect my Sky digital box and a DVD player.

    Any suggestions people? :)
     
    Last edited: 30 Jan 2006
  2. NokkonWud

    Caporegime

    Joined: 1 Oct 2004

    Posts: 26,314

    Location: Redcar

    I personally find the component cable (the one with the Premium) to be the best cable. Plug into the component port and flick to HDTV. You won't believe the colours.
     
  3. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 29,168

    Location: In a house

    Yes I think you can just use the lead that came with the Premium, as its got the Component set on there as well as the composite. :)

    Darn just beaten. :p
     
  4. NokkonWud

    Caporegime

    Joined: 1 Oct 2004

    Posts: 26,314

    Location: Redcar

    You gotta be quicker than that mister :p
     
  5. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 29,168

    Location: In a house

    Yep, im getting old, thats my excuse anyway. :p
     
  6. The_One

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Dec 2003

    Posts: 11,476

    The scart sockets on the Samsung are they both RGB or is only one of them RGB?
     
  7. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 29,168

    Location: In a house

    Should say in the Manual, or on the back of the Tv next to the sockets, but no doubt someone who has one will let you know. :)
     
  8. Kipp3r

    Associate

    Joined: 1 Jan 2006

    Posts: 36

    Location: West Yorkshire

    one says Ext 1(RGB) and the other says Ext 2(AV), i just looked on the back on mine now :)
     
  9. The_One

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Dec 2003

    Posts: 11,476

    So am i best getting a 2 way RGB splitter box to connect the sky digital box and the DVD player?
     
  10. smokedog

    Mobster

    Joined: 28 Jul 2004

    Posts: 4,329

    I prefer VGA. Not as rich in colour but pin sharp.
     
  11. PuncH

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 15 Aug 2003

    Posts: 1,476

    Location: Ipswich

    aye. it's a waste putting either of those in a non rgb socket.
     
  12. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 29,168

    Location: In a house

    I got a new Scart switcher today, as i had to take one back that stopped working, and the new one is working great, full RGB compatibility, only prob is i have to get of my arse to switch it over as its got manual switches, but it saves buggering up the Scart socket on the back of the Tv with having to keep changing leads over between my 360, and my Sky, as only have one RGB socket to, the others just a normal composite. :)

    I got this one here , and its working great, no problems at all, its not Tristar as it says, its a Hitachi one, very good quality.:)
     
    Last edited: 30 Jan 2006
  13. PuncH

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 15 Aug 2003

    Posts: 1,476

    Location: Ipswich

    manual ones seem to be the best imo. there's no chance of any interference from the other component.

    good work loadsamoney. similar to the one my 360 and G'Cube is hooked up to.
     
  14. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 29,168

    Location: In a house

    Thanks, i did get the 3x way silver one on there for £12.99, but it stopped working after about an hr or so, started getting loads of interferance through my speakers when i switched it to my Sky, like popping, hissing etc... so took it back and excahnged it for the other one, i was originally going to get that one, but i wasn't sure if it was RGB compatible, but lucky it is, and its working great no probs at all as said. :)
     
  15. NokkonWud

    Caporegime

    Joined: 1 Oct 2004

    Posts: 26,314

    Location: Redcar

    Thats no good for your old, arthritic body!