1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Xbox clicking

Discussion in 'Console Games & Hardware' started by clone, 5 Jun 2006.

  1. clone

    Soldato

    Joined: 11 Jul 2003

    Posts: 6,195

    Location: Telford//west mids

    Daughter turned her xbox on today and the green led at the front flash`s red to green,also it`s making a clicking noise and said it need`s a service on screen.

    I take it it`s borked now,shes had it scince it first came out.

    Any advice will be wellcome.
     
  2. Nismo

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,549

    Location: UK

    On the service screen is there an error code?

    From memory it would be 'E' followed by a number?
     
  3. clone

    Soldato

    Joined: 11 Jul 2003

    Posts: 6,195

    Location: Telford//west mids

    07 is the code thats come up.
     
  4. Beepcake

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,851

    Location: Cheshire

    IIRC 07 is harddisk timeout. Usually means the harddisk has broken, which could also account for the clicking.
     
  5. xtreme.BIN

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 1 Jun 2006

    Posts: 119

    Correct, error code 07 is a kernel error indicating HDD timeout.
     
  6. Maniac618

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Jan 2006

    Posts: 1,009

    yep.
     
  7. Velocity

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 28 Apr 2003

    Posts: 1,621

    Location: UK - Milton Keynes

    yup it's the harddisk.

    Original Xbox hard disk is easy to replace.
     
  8. Beepcake

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,851

    Location: Cheshire

    Pretty sure we can't talk about modifying the XBox though, which is why I didn't mention a solution :)
     
  9. clone

    Soldato

    Joined: 11 Jul 2003

    Posts: 6,195

    Location: Telford//west mids

    Ok thx for the replys points me in the right direction :D
     
  10. xtreme.BIN

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 1 Jun 2006

    Posts: 119


    Not unless you chip it!!
    An Xbox HD is locked to the eprom so just chucking in another HD from an Xbox will not work!!
     
  11. Nismo

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 18,549

    Location: UK

    No talk about modchips guys, regardless of the intention :)
     
  12. Werewolf

    Commissario

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 28,918

    Location: Panting like a fiend


    What he said
     
  13. clone

    Soldato

    Joined: 11 Jul 2003

    Posts: 6,195

    Location: Telford//west mids

    Gave it to my m8 as his dvd drive stopped working,hard drive was dead as a do do,my daughter now has a 360 to keep her happy :)