1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

xfx7950 driver problems

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by ca9phoenix, 23 Jul 2006.

  1. ca9phoenix

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Jul 2006

    Posts: 1,933

    Location: 1.96 to OcUK on foot

    I have recently aquired an xfx 7950 gpu, everything works fine until i install the drivers then everything goes a bit wrong.
    both the current nvidia driver 91.31 and the one on the instilation cd cause my pc to reset every 30 seconds or so which is a tad annoying. the beta driver 91.33 is stable but doesn't preform particularly well.
    what i'm concerned with is my old(er) 7800gtx works with the current drivers and i'm about to upgrade to conroe and don't particularly want conflict issues. Is anyone else having similar problems and does anyone know of a better fix than using the beta drivers?

    oh and to top it off the included game (tombraider legend) is so glitchy at any reselution with the advanced fetures turnrd on i'm begining to wonder why i didn't just stick with my 7800!
     
  2. wiggy

    Hitman

    Joined: 30 Jan 2004

    Posts: 770

    Location: Milton Keynes, Bucks

    Am i being thick by saying your mobo is compatable with xfire not sli :confused:
    ps welcome to the boards :D
     
    Last edited: 23 Jul 2006
  3. ca9phoenix

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Jul 2006

    Posts: 1,933

    Location: 1.96 to OcUK on foot

    i did think of that but my board is the one prior to the P5WD2-E which is xfire.... mine just says universal pci express??? i am changing my mobo as soon as the core processors come into stock... i'll make sure it's one configured for SLI and hope i can use normal drivers.

    p.s thanks for the welcome! :)
     
  4. w3bbo

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 14 Nov 2005

    Posts: 10,663

    Location: Up North

    Stupid question...have you attached the pci-e 6 pin power lead?
     
  5. ca9phoenix

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Jul 2006

    Posts: 1,933

    Location: 1.96 to OcUK on foot

    yes it's all powered up it's the first thing i checked ;)
     
  6. Marshy

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 5,623

    Location: On holiday

    Your motherboard isn't listed on the compatibility list mate so probably a contributing factor as to the source of your problems.

    The list can be forund HERE
     
  7. ca9phoenix

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Jul 2006

    Posts: 1,933

    Location: 1.96 to OcUK on foot


    Thanks, i think i'll put up and waif tor an nforce motherboard for conroe when i upgrade.