1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

xp install, ethernet problem

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Naff8000, 15 Oct 2009.

  1. Naff8000

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 Jan 2009

    Posts: 2,171

    I've installed all types of Realtek ethernet drivers and all the ones on the Gigabyte site, still the ethernet does not work...

    Is there something I need off windows update or something? Since all I've done is slipstream SP2 onto an SP1 xp cd, no other windows updates.
    Thanks
     
  2. theheyes

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jan 2007

    Posts: 8,945

    Location: Manchester

    Just sounds like you haven't got the correct driver yet. What model motherboard is it?
     
  3. Naff8000

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 Jan 2009

    Posts: 2,171

  4. mjd

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,066

    Location: Llanelli, S.Wales

    Is it showing as a unknown device in device manager?
     
  5. Naff8000

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 Jan 2009

    Posts: 2,171

    No it says the driver is working
     
  6. mjd

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,066

    Location: Llanelli, S.Wales

    Can you ping the loopback address?
     
  7. Naff8000

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 Jan 2009

    Posts: 2,171

    oops sec
     
  8. Naff8000

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 Jan 2009

    Posts: 2,171

    C:\Documents and Settings\Ben>ping 127.0.0.1

    Pinging 127.0.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
    Reply from 127.0.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

    Ping statistics for 127.0.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms

    C:\Documents and Settings\Ben>
     
  9. mjd

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,066

    Location: Llanelli, S.Wales

    Well its certainly functioning on the face of it.
    How are your IPs assigned?
     
  10. Naff8000

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 Jan 2009

    Posts: 2,171

    Windows IP Configuration

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.139.44
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . . . :
     
  11. mjd

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,066

    Location: Llanelli, S.Wales

    That explains that then :)

    The card itself seems to be OK. You just dont seem to be picking up an IP address.
    I'm guessing you have a DHCP server running on your router and have it issuing a sufficient number of addresses etc....?

    Are you posting from another machine? Could you run an ipconfig on that and post back?
     
  12. Naff8000

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 Jan 2009

    Posts: 2,171

    I dont think this is a router. Im with Virgin media, but using the modem for it that was here when I moved in. It's only got one ethernet output, which works fine on this laptop.

    Very strange ipconfig on here though :)


    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Ben>ipconfig

    Windows IP Configuration


    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::f127:b05:df87:f191%10
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 77.100.101.146
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.254.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 77.100.100.1

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 21:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 22:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 24:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 25:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 26:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    C:\Users\Ben>
     
  13. mjd

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,066

    Location: Llanelli, S.Wales

  14. Naff8000

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 12 Jan 2009

    Posts: 2,171

    Ah I figured it'd be plug and play like this laptop. Excellent thanks a lot for your help, I'll give this a try.
     
  15. Amnesia

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 22 Jun 2007

    Posts: 8,953

    Location: Buckingham Palace

    have u tried powering the modem off(keep connected to ur computer) then switching it back on.

    that usually does the trick