1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

xp & media center?

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by FeFiDoh, 26 Jan 2006.

  1. FeFiDoh

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 7,584

    Location: Swindon

    Could i install both media center and have xp still on this laptop??
     
  2. Rednut05

    Banned

    Joined: 1 Aug 2005

    Posts: 909

    you can have two OS's on one system. You get an option when you boot up to which OS you crave at the time.
     
  3. SiriusB

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Dec 2005

    Posts: 14,448

    Location: Manchester

    On a laptop? Is there really any point having Media Center?

    But yes, the above poster is correct. You can have a dual boot system and when you boot there is a lovely menu asking you which OS you would absolutely love to start :D

    SiriusB
     
  4. Rednut05

    Banned

    Joined: 1 Aug 2005

    Posts: 909

    Had to beat my 'crave' with 'absolutely love to'. I feel 2nd best
     
  5. SiriusB

    Capodecina

    Joined: 16 Dec 2005

    Posts: 14,448

    Location: Manchester

    Aww, don't think of it as second best!


    Think of it as last since there are only two of us :p

    SiriusB
     
  6. FeFiDoh

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 7,584

    Location: Swindon

    the reason for wanting to do it on the laptop is its the only thing with wireless in the house and i use it when i can more so then my PC at the mo. And id like to be able to play movies on the xbox with it. I will put it on my PC as well once i have that sorted out.
     
  7. Borris

    Caporegime

    Joined: 25 Oct 2002

    Posts: 30,410

    You may as well just use MediaPortal and install that in XP.

    MCE is near enough XP Home with added media software.

    A quick question though - do you have a TV capture card in your laptop?

    And were you aware that you can have MCE (Extender) in your XBox itself.

    If it's a question of controling your media centre, you can use the web plugin for MCE on your main PC, and control it via your wireless lappy.
     
  8. csmager

    Soldato

    Joined: 30 Dec 2003

    Posts: 5,770

    Location: London

    I wouldn't bother dual booting - MCE is just XP Pro with an added app. Just install and be done with it.
     
  9. FeFiDoh

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 7,584

    Location: Swindon

    well basically all i was after was to be able to play movies from the PC to my 360. With that media portal thing is it possible to do that or not??
     
  10. Scottland

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 15,211

    Location: North Wales

    No, as the 360 works as a media centre extender and media portal AFAIK does not.

    As already posted, XPMCE is basically XP with the added media application. If you didn't run the MCE application you'd think it was just XP Pro.

    BTW - Can the 360 play back divx/xvid avi files yet? I though it was still just wmv & mpeg?
     
  11. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: 12 Mar 2004

    Posts: 28,438

    Location: London


    no it cant, my brother would use mce on his xbox but it would be useless with no divx/xvid support. Espically since hdtv stuff is too big to srteam through 54mbps wireless.
     
    Last edited: 26 Jan 2006
  12. FeFiDoh

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Aug 2005

    Posts: 7,584

    Location: Swindon

    doh so i dont stand much chance of getting it working then :(
     
  13. bledd

    Don

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 46,689

    Location: Parts Unknown

    just buy XPmce and install that INSTEAD of your current windows install, the xpmce front end is just a program that you open within the normal xp layout itself :)

    so you can use it as a 'normal' pc within the operating system, you just can't join domains (without hacking a bit)