1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

XP on Raptor

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by westie17, 15 Feb 2006.

  1. westie17

    Hitman

    Joined: 19 Nov 2005

    Posts: 550

    Location: UK

    Got A WD raptor 74gb and im trying to install windows on it but windows installation thing dont see the drive but my bios does.
    mobo: Asrock dual sata got a driver CD with it but no floppy.
     
    Last edited: 15 Feb 2006
  2. kinggost

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,860

    Location: Nottingham

    you installed the sata drivers
     
  3. Shads

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Jun 2004

    Posts: 334

    Location: wrexham

    i think there is a setting in the bios to tell it to boot sata not ide hd and you dont need any drivers if its not in a raid and i take it your hd is connected to the blue sata port not the red??
     
    Last edited: 15 Feb 2006
  4. bluesouljah

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Dec 2004

    Posts: 710

    Location: Essex

    You need to enable SATA in bios, disable RAID settings, install windows using F6 for Sata drivers and it should be fine.
     
  5. bluesouljah

    Hitman

    Joined: 2 Dec 2004

    Posts: 710

    Location: Essex

    Alternatively, make sure you put the drive in connectors 1 or 2. I have four on my board and it wouldn't do RAID on 3 and 4, had to be 1 and 2 for the first hard drive connection.
     
  6. Borden

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Jul 2005

    Posts: 3,808

    Location: Derby

    When i set up XP on my board i had to set my single drive as a JBOD (single drive) raid array. I then had to install the raid drivers from my motherboard cd onto a floppy and then press F6 when installing XP to install the raid drivers.
     
  7. malcolm

    Hitman

    Joined: 31 Aug 2004

    Posts: 617

    Ther are instructions in the Manual that came with your Asrock that tells you how to make the floppy you need. You don't need another PC, you can boot from the CD and make the floppy from there. Much better than most manufacturers who expect you to have access to another PC! If all else fails, RTFM!

    Windows XP does not have drivers on the CD for the SATA controller on the Asrock (or many others for that matter). So you have to 'do the F6 thing' and use a floppy to load the drivers. If you don't have a floppy drive (ahh, shame!) you can integrate the driver into XP using nLite or something similar, but then you will need a second PC.
     
  8. Humey

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 20 Jan 2006

    Posts: 144

    Location: Glasgow

    Only XP slipstreamed with SP2 onto a cdr will see some sata controlers like Nvidia, I know silicon image still dont work, as most peep will be installing plain XP then updating to SP2 or installing XP-SP1 then updating to SP2, they will also need use floppy and F6 method.

    Last few Vista builds now let you choose floppy / cdrom / usb device for sata raid drivers.